King George
Black, Jeremy. George III: America’s Last King. Yale University, 2006.
Burrows, John. “Wampum at Niagara: The Royal Proclamation, Canadian Legal History, and Self-Government.” Aboriginal and Treaty Rights in Canada, University of British Columbia Press, 2000. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/lib/uvic/detail.action?docID=3412139.
Fenge, Terry and Jim Aldridge. “Introduction.” Keeping Promises: The Royal Proclamation of 1763, Aboriginal Rights, and Treaties in Canada, edited by Terry Fenge and Jim Aldridge, McGill-Queen's University, 2015.
Francis, Douglas R., Richard Jones, and Donald B. Smith. Origins: Canadian History to Confederation, 6th edition. Nelson, 2009.
Harlow, Vincent T. The Founding of the Second British Empire 1763-1793, vol 1. Longmans, Green and Co, 1952.
Otis, Ghislain. “The Royal Proclamation and Quebec.” Keeping Promises: The Royal Proclamation of 1763, Aboriginal Rights, and Treaties in Canada, edited by Terry Fenge and Jim Aldridge. McGill-Queen's University, 2015.
Princess Patricia
Harris, Carolyn. “Princess Patricia of Connaught.” The Canadian Encyclopedia, 30 Apr. 2018, https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/princess-patricia-of-connaught
Ogden, Jan. “Sharing Skills and Knowledge the Guiding Way.” Girl Guides Canada Blog, 20 Aug. 2012, https://girlguidescanblog.ca/2012/08/20/sharing-skills-and-knowledge-the-guiding-way/
Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. “Princess Patricia of Connaught.” PPCLI.com. https://ppcli.com/the-regiment/colonel-in-chief/past-colonel-chief/princess-patricia/. Accessed 23 April 2024.
Treble, Patricia. “Princess Patricia: The first modern princess.” Maclean’s, 26 Feb. 2019, https://www.macleans.ca/facebook-instant-articles/princess-patricia-the-first-modern-princess
Queen Charlotte
CBC News. “Queen Charlotte Islands renamed Haida Gwaii in historic deal.” CBC News, 11 Dec. 2009, https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/queen-charlotte-islands-renamed-haida-gwaii-in-historic-deal-1.849161
Dickson, Courtney. “Haida Gwaii village officially restores ancestral name.” CBC News, 14 July 2022, https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/daajing-giids-queen-charlotte-village-haida-gwaii-name-change-1.6519795#:~:text=A%20village%20in%20the%20Haida,%22daw%2Djean%20geeds.%22
Fitzgerald, Percy. The Good Queen Charlotte. London, Downey & Co, 1899.
Hedley, Olwen. Queen Charlotte. Butler & Tanner, 1975.
Walbran, Capt. John T. British Columbia Coast Names: Their Origin and History. J. J. Douglas, 1971.
Wood-Ellem, Elizabeth. Queen Salote of Tonga: The Story of an Era 1900-1965. 1999. University of Hawai’i Press.
George Blenkinsop
Bracken, Christopher. The Potlatch Papers: A Colonial Case History. University of Chicago, 1997.
Houe, Charles. To Potlatch or Not to Potlatch. British Columbia Teachers’ Federation, 2011.
Kte’pi, Bill. "Potlatch." Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia, vol. 4, edited by Carlos E. Cortés, SAGE Publications, 2013, pp. 1742-1742. Sage Knowledge, doi: https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452276274.
Mackie, Richard. “Blenkinsop, George.” Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/ Université Laval, 1994. http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/blenkinsop_george_13E.html.
Noakes, Taylor C. “Potlatch Ban.” The Canadian Encyclopedia, 14 June 2023, https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/potlatch-ban.
Captain James Cook
Gough, Barry M. “Nootka Sound in James Cook’s Pacific World.” Nutka: Captain Cook and the Spanish Explorers on the Coast, edited by Barbara S. Efrat and W. J. Langlois. Sound Heritage, vol. 7, no. 1. Province of British Columbia, 1978.
Jackman, S. W. Vancouver Island. Stackpole Books, 1972.
Obeseyekere, Gananath. The Apotheosis of Captain Cook: European Mythmaking in the Pacific. Princeton University Press, 1992. ACLS Humanities, https://hdl-handle-net.ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/2027/heb03590.0001.001
Pykare, Shelby. “He Nae Ākea: Bound Together.” The Contemporary Pacific, vol. 29, no. 1, 2017, pp. 212-214. https://doi.org/10.1353/cp.2017.0023.
United States Geological Survey. “MOON - Cook.” Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature. https://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/Feature/1292. Accessed 26 March 2024.
University of Cambridge. “Australian Aboriginal spears taken by James Cook to be repatriated.” University of Cambridge, 2 March 2023, https://www.cam.ac.uk/news/australian-aboriginal-spears-taken-by-james-cook-to-be-repatriated.
James Douglas
Adams, John David. Old Square-Toes and His Lady: The Life of James and Amelia Douglas. TouchWood Editions, 2011. Canada Commons, https://canadacommons.ca/artifacts/1879158/old-square-toes-and-his-lady/2628647/
District of Saanich. “Name restored for PKOLS (Mount Douglas Park).” District of Saanich, 16 August 2022. https://www.saanich.ca/EN/main/news-events/news-archives/2022-news/name-restoration-for-pkols-mount-douglas-park.html
Elliott, Dave. Saltwater People. 1983. Edited by Janet Poth, Saanich School Board, 1990. https://wsanec.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/saltwater-people-1983-delliot-sr-compressed.pdf.
Government of Canada. “Robinson Treaties and Douglas Treaties (1850-1854).” Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, 15 February 2013, https://www.rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca/eng/1360945974712/1544619909155
Jackman, S. W. Vancouver Island. Stackpole Books, 1972.
Smith, Dorothy Blakey. James Douglas: Father of British Columbia. Oxford University, 1971.
Vallance, Neil. “The Earliest First Nations Accounts of the Formation of the Vancouver Island (or Douglas) Treaties of 1850-54.” To Share, Not Surrender: Indigenous and Settler Visions of Treaty Making in the Colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, edited by Peter Cook, Neil Vallance, John Sutton Lutz, Graham Brazier, and Hamar Foster, University of British Columbia Press, 2021, https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/lib/uvic/detail.action?docID=6801669.
Roderick Finlayson
Finlayson, Roderick. Biography of Roderick Finlayson. 1891. Canadiana by CRKN, https://www.canadiana.ca/view/oocihm.14981.
Finlayson, Roderick. History of Vancouver Island and the Northwest Coast. 1878. Roderick Finlayson fonds, A/B/30/F49.1, BC Provincial Archives, Victoria, BC.
Stardom, Eleanor. “Finlayson, Roderick.” Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 1990, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/finlayson_roderick_12E.html.
Dr. John Sebastian Helmcken
Daily British Colonist. "House of Assembly." Daily British Colonist, 1 Apr. 1862. Archive.org. https://archive.org/details/dailycolonist18620328uvic/page/n1/mode/2up?view=theater
Helmcken, John Sebastian. The Reminiscences of Doctor John Helmcken, edited by Dorothy Blakey Smith, University of British Columbia Press, 1975. Canada Commons, https://canadacommons.ca/artifacts/1868148/the-reminiscences-of-doctor-john-sebastian-helmcken/2617107/
Marshall, Daniel P. “Helmcken, John Sebastian.” Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 14, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 1998, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/helmcken_john_sebastian_14E.html
Van Rijn, Kiran. “’Lo! the Poor Indian!’ Colonial Responses to the 1862-63 Smallpox Epidemic in British Columbia and Vancouver Island.” Canadian Bulletin of Medical History, vol. 23, no. 2, 2006, pp. 541-60, https://doi.org/10.3138/cbmh.23.2.541
Ask us