Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts

Cologne Chronicle

Type: Incunabulum
Date: 1499
Imprint: Cologne: Johan Koelhoff
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Produced By/For: Printed by Johan Koelhoff
Contents/Title: Cologne Chronicle, single leaf
Shelf Mark: Inc.Ger.1
Location: Brown Collection Box 6 (Acc. 1989-070, Item #3)

Description from donor

Leaf from the Cologne Chronicle

An original leaf from Cronica van der hilliger Stat van Coelle printed in 1499 by Johan Koelhoff in Cologne. Contemporary colouring. [Information from label affixed to mat.] Matted and framed between two sheets of Plexiglas, area visible: ca. 310 x 213 mm. Upper outside corner torn off (4x8 mm), lower outside corner creased with some flaking of paper.

Recto: [p.?] CXX at head, 42 lines text printed in black, many letters embellished with red vertical strokes. Three Portraits (two of clerics and one of an emperor) printed in black and coloured yellow, blue, green, brown, and red; ca. 50 x 40mm.

Verso: 44 lines text printed in black and embellished as above.

Provenance: Adelphi Bookshop, Victoria.

Speculum aureum anime peccatricis dicitur

Type: Incunabulum
Date: c. 1485
Imprint: Memmingen: J. Kunne, circa 1485
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Memmingen, Germany
Author: Attributed to Denis le Chartreux and Jacobus de Gruytrode
Produced By/For: Printed by Albert Kunne
Contents/Title: Speculum Aureum Anime Peccatricis Dicitur
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.1
Location: Call no. BR75 J3

Description

Speculum Aureum Anime Peccatricis Dicitur

[54] p. ; 19 cm.  Printed by Albert Kunne.

Incunabulum, 15th century

Type: Incunabulum
Date: 15th century
Imprint: Unidentified
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Unidentified
Author: Unidentified
Produced By/For: Unidentified
Contents/Title: Gratian, Decretum, 1, D. 96
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.2
Location: Shelf 02/C/10 (Acc. 2001-002)

Description by Stephanie Lahey (December 2015)

Incunabulum

Incunabulum, 21.9 X 30.7 cm, Decretum Gratiani, 1, D. 96; recto: cc. 8–13, verso: c. 14 (cc. 13–14 = the infamous forgery known as the Donation of Constantine; vide: https://history.hanover.edu/texts/vallapart1.html)

Images

Facsimile images available through UVic Libraries Digital Collections.

Pantheologia of Reynerus de Pisis

Type: Incunabulum
Date: 1477
Imprint: Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, 12 Feb. 1477?
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Nuremburg, Germany
Author: Rainerius de Pisis
Produced By/For: Printed by Anton Koberger
Contents/Title: Pantheologia, sive Summa universae theologiae. Ed: Jacobus Florentinus, single leaf
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.3
Location: Shelf 02/J/24b (Acc. 2010-014, Item #3)

Description

Page from Pantheologia of Reynerus de Pisis

Incunabulum, 31.5 X 43.5 cm, 1477

Description with item: A page from the Pantheologia of Reynerus de Pisis printed at Nuremburg by Anton Kolberger in 1477.

Images

Facsimile images available through UVic Libraries Digital Collections.

Nuremberg Chronicle

Type: Incunabulum
Date: 1493?
Imprint: Nuremberg: Anton Koberger
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Produced By/For: Printed by Anton Koberger
Contents/Title: Nuremberg Chronicle, single leaf, uncoloured
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.4
Location: Shelf 02/J/24b (Acc. 2010-014, Item #4)

Description

Leaf from the Nuremberg Chronicle

Incunabulum, 32 X 45.5 cm, 1493

Desciption with item: Leaf from the Nuremberg Chronicle, uncoloured.

Images

Facsimile images available through UVic Libraries Digital Collections.

Commentaria in Psalmos

Type: Incunabulum
Date: approximately 1475-1476
Imprint: [Nuremberg] : [Johann Sensenschmidt and Andreas Frisner], [approximately 1475-1476]
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Format: Unidentified
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Contents/Title: Petri lumbardi Quem [et] magist[rum] sententia[rum] dicimus glosa ordinaria in prophetam : de quo dominus ait elegi mihi dauid vi[rum] secundū cor meum hic intitulatur liber.
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.5
Location: Call no. BS1429 P48 1475

Description

Extent: 415 unnumbered leaves ; 32 cm 

Binding: Contemporary pigskin over wooden boards ; worm holes ; part of brass clasp missing. Leaves have some slight worming. Lacking initial blank & ff. 31, 40 & 414 which are supplied in near contemporary manuscript. Waste manuscripts used in binding. Printed in black with some letters in red. Manuscript notes on endpapers. 

Provenance: Purchased from Cheffins Fine Art Auctioneers on the Special Collections Department fund and the George & Lola Kidd Library Collection Enrichment Fund 2019.

Images

Facsimile images available through UVic Libraries Digital Collections.

Nicolas de Lyra Incunabulum

Type: Incunabulum
Date: approximately 1494
Imprint: Nuremberg, Germany : Impensis famosi necnon industriosi viri Anthonij Koberger Ciuis Nuermbergensis finit felicter xviiij Aprilis Anno dominice incarnationis Millesimo quadringentesimo nonagesimoquarto 19 April 1494
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Format: 4to
Setting: Nuremberg, Germany
Contents/Title: Repertorium in postilla[m] famosi et egregij doctoris fratris Nicolai de lyra super ve[tus] & no[vum] testa[mentum].
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.6
Location: Call no. BS485 N5233R4 1494

Description

Extent: 312 unnumbered pages ; 24 cm

Binding: Bound in early blind-stamped calf with clasps, rebacked. Three raised bands on spine. Several chips in binding; lacks 2 brass corner-pieces; one clasp restored. Gutters renewed (as rebacked); final leaf with marginal chipping and with paper repair (no loss of text); title with two holes (no loss); early ink to title and front pastedown; contents with age-toning, marginal tears to chips (2 repaired); light foxing and minor staining.

Provenance: Purchased from Addison and Sarova Auctioneers on the George & Lola Kidd Library Collection Enrichment Fund 2020.

Images

Facsimile images available through UVic Libraries Digital Collections.

Incunable fragment

Type: Incunabulum
Date: between 1450 and 1550
Imprint: unidentified
Setting: unknown
Contents: unknown
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.7
Location: Call no. Z241 I53

De summo bono 

Type: Incunabulum
Date: approximately 1470?
Imprint: Cologne, Germany: Ulrich Zell
Setting: unknown
Contents: De Summo Bono is a medieval text written by Isidore of Seville, a prominent Christian bishop and scholar who lived in the late sixth and early seventh centuries. 
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.8
Location: Call no. BR65.I73 D47 1470

Dealer Description (Freeman's Auction)

De Summo Bono is a medieval text written by Isidore of Seville, a prominent Christian bishop and scholar who lived in the late sixth and early seventh centuries. The text is a philosophical and theological treatise on the nature of the highest good, which Isidore identifies as God. In the work, he draws upon classical and Christian philosophical traditions, including the works of Aristotle, Plato, and Augustine, to argue that the highest good can only be found through a deep understanding of God, and a commitment to a virtuous life. This edition of "De Summo Bono," printed by Ulrich Zell in Cologne around 1470, is significant as an early example of the printing press in Europe and a valuable historical artifact of medieval philosophy and theology. Preceded only by the Nuremberg edition of 1470.

Provenance: Purchased from Freeman's Auction on the Special Collections Fund, 2024.

Expositio (Postilla) in Job

Type: Incunabulum
Date: approximately 1474
Imprint: Esslingen : per discretum Conradum Fÿner
Setting: unknown
Contents: Thomas Aquinas's line-by-line commentary on the book of Job. 
Shelf Mark: Inc.Lat.9
Location: Call no. B765.T53 E97 1470

Dealer Description (Freeman Auction)

Rare first edition of Thomas Aquinas's line-by-line commentary on the book of Job--the only fifteenth-century edition of this work, and the first by printer Conrad Fyner to bear his name and a date in the colophon. Originally written in the early 1260s while in Orvieto, Aquinas's commentary emphasizes that Job's misfortunes were not the result of divine disfavor, and that his suffering was a means for Job to gain self-knowledge, but also to provide future generations with a model of endurance through hardship.

Provenance: Purchased from Freeman's Auction on the Special Collections Fund, 2024.