Looking for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles? Search our index of research databases to find the literature you're looking for. You can even search by subject — including Art & Art History! Browse through some of our Best Bets below, or explore more through our index for this subject area.
If you need help with searching, check out our video about using research databases below.
Drama OnlineThe award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. It includes a constantly growing collection that meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover. Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
ARTstorImages from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Art OnlineAccess to an authoritative art resource. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and more.
Berg Fashion LibraryFashion history including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Play IndexCovers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextMulticultural and inter-disciplinary research tool useful for theater students, educators and professionals. Since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.