Find Journal Articles - EOS 525 Library Seminar - Fall 2022 - Sept 28 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Journal Article Databases

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. It is the recognized authority for evaluating journals.
SciVal
SciVal is a web-based analytics solution with unparalleled power and flexibility that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 20,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide. SciVal allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark relative to peers, identify potential strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
**Users will be required to login with an account username and password**
Data Citation Index - Web of Science Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts.
GEOBASE (Engineering Village 2) GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,700 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles.
GeoRef GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
GEOSCAN Database Contains more than 40,000 records covering all the publications of the Geological Survey of Canada, including images of scanned maps.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
Oceanic Abstracts Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. This database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Federal Sciences Libraries Network (formerly known as WAVES)
WAVES contains bibliographic information about the published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences currently held in the collections of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. [Select
"Limit to the DFO collection"]
Environment Index This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Courtesy of UBC Science & Engineering Library. Enter a journal abbreviation to determine the full journal title.
All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.