Skip to Main Content
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950
Collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, illuminating the personal experiences of nearly 500 women. Includes 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from 1500 to 1900. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous.
Canada's Early Women Writers
Presents biographical and publication information for more than 470 women who lived in Canada or wrote about Canada, and authored an English-language book or pamphlet of fiction or poetry that was published before 1940. It includes titles of publications and references to archival resources. Produced by Simon Fraser University.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Discovering American Women's History Online provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
A resource for those with an interest in literature, women's writing, or cultural history more generally. With about five and a half million words of text, it is full of interpretive information on women, writing, and culture. It includes documents on the lives and writing careers of about a thousand writers, together with a great deal of contextual historical material on relevant subjects, such as the law, economics, science, writing by men, education, medicine, politics.
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
The Perdita Manuscripts project is on the cutting edge of digital scholarship, allowing scholars to consult detailed descriptions and full facsimiles of early modern womens' manuscripts from a wide range of public and private collections through a simple yet versatile search interface. This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible.
Women Writers Online
The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Their goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience.