The fresh water supplies of the Earth are finite and as the world's population continues to grow humanity's thirst for this water seems unquenchable. Intense pressure is being exerted upon freshwater resources and a lack of adequate clean water is seen as one of the most serious global problems for the 21st century. Indeed it has been said that the next war will be fought over water, not oil. Human health and the health of supporting ecosystems increasingly depends upon our ability to find, control, manage and understand water. In a single volume, The Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources provides the reader with a comprehensive overview and understanding of the diverse field of hydrology
The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Editionarose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results.
This set covers all important water science concepts and current issues and highlights major historical developments and key figures. v. 1. Acid-Drought -- v. 2. Earle-Lakes -- v. 3. Land-Pricing -- v. 4. Prior-Women.
Water and waste management covers the design, building and operation of plants for water treatment and supply, sewerage, wastewater treatment and disposal, and solid waste treatment and disposal. Since the last edition in 2002 there has been an increasing importance on the issues reflecting climate change.
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.