Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Search Biomedical Literature: A How-To Guide

Overview of steps and resources to assist researchers searching biomedical literature

Step 2: Decide Which Database(s) to Use

Subject Databases

Different databases cover different content areas. Here are just a few database suggestions, organized by subject, to help you get started. You can also browse UVic databases by subject.

Note: Be sure to keep sufficient records of your database searches so that you can appropriately report your search methodology. It is important that your searches are reproducible and documented.
 

 

Biological Sciences

BioOne
PLoS – Public Library of Science
PubMed
Scopus
Web of Science

 

General Medical/Biomedical

Medline

PubMed

Scopus

UpTo Date

Web of Science

 

Nursing

CINAHL

PubMed

Scopus

Web of Science

 

Psychology

Academic Search Premier

PubMed

PsycINFO

Scopus
Web of Science

 

Public Health

Academic Search Complete

Bibliography of Native North Americans

PopLine

PubMed

Scopus

Web of Science

 

Rehabilitation

CINAHL

PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PubMed

SPORTDiscus

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.