The UVic Libraries also subscribes to a large number of interdisciplinary and subject specific databases. Start by considering the frequently-used databases.
Other databases can be found by searching by words in the database title, or browsing by subject, and a few databases are specific for searching newspapers.
Here are a couple of good databases to start your research:
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Topics include: survey research, research design, data visualization, qualitative data collection, and R statistical package etc
Each collection includes a breadth of video types and lengths to support a variety of research and classroom needs:
• Case Studies, conference presentations, documentaries
• Films, interviews with leading experts on key topics, lectures for course instruction, revision or a different viewpoint on a topic
• Practitioner demonstrations of theories and techniques, short definitions of key terms and concept, tutorials illustrating practical applications of methods and concepts
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
These foundations provide bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. It is the recognized authority for evaluating journals.
Ask us