LibGuides: Neuroscience: Access Reference Resources

Visual Image Resources

Allen Brain Map
Select "Atlases and Data" from the website's top navigational bar.
more...less...
The Allen Institute for Brain Science shares data, tools and knowledge for researchers to explore the biological complexity of the mammalian brain.
Anatomy TV
Online 3D human anatomy educational resource. The most comprehensive, accurate and detailed 3D models of the human body.
Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
Provides images of & information about well-preserved, sectioned, & stained brains of mammals. See & download photographs of brains of over 100 different species of mammals.
Human Brain Project
Select the "Explore the Brain" tab on the website's homepage.
more...less...
An innovation research infrastructure that aims to allow scientific and industrial researchers to advance knowledge in the fields of neuroscience, computing, and brain-related medicine.
Whole Brain Atlas
The Whole Brain Atlas is an online resource for central nervous system imaging developed by Keith Johnson, MD, and Alex Becker, PhD in association with Harvard University.

HHMI's BioInteractive Neuroscience Virtual Lab
Provides a way to learn about basic neuroscience research procedures & tools by dissecting, observing, & collecting neurophysiological data from a leech.
Human Brain Project
An innovation research infrastructure that aims to allow scientific and industrial researchers to advance knowledge in the fields of neuroscience, computing, and brain-related medicine.
Synapse Web
Provides information on the structural basis of synaptic function. Includes an atlas of ultrastructual neurocytology, images of brain structures & cells ), tutorials, & a suite of tools for the analysis & 3-D reconstruction of structures from serial sections.

Dictionary of Cognitive Science by Joëlle Proust (Editor); François Rastier (Editor); Olivier Houdé (Editor); Daniel Kayser (Editor); Olivier Koenig (Editor); François Rastier (Editor); Olivier Houdé (Editor)
ISBN: 1579582516
Publication Date: 2003-10-31
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience by George F. Koob (Editor-In-Chief); Michel Le Moal (Editor-In-Chief); Richard F. Thompson (Editor-In-Chief); Michel Le Moal (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0080453961
Publication Date: 2010-05-26
Encyclopedia of Computational Neuroscience by Dieter Jaeger (Editor); Ranu Jung (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461466758
Publication Date: 2014-12-14
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (Elsevier) by Squire LR
ISBN: 0080450466
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by Vilanayur S. Ramachandran (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QP376 E586
ISBN: 0122272102
Publication Date: 2002-07-04
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) by Robert A. Wilson; Frank C. Keil
ISBN: 026273124X
Publication Date: 1999-08-02
Electronic community for cognitive and brain sciences. Includes full-text of books and other resources; interactive forum for researchers.

Print reference sources can be located using the Library catalogue with the location limit Reference.