Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Artists' Books

This guide provides an introduction to resources relating to artists' books and book arts at the University of Victoria Libraries.

Visiting Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives serves as a research and teaching resource for students, faculty, and the community at large. All members of the university community, as well as those outside the university, are welcome to use the resources and services of the department.

Artists' and Fine Press Books

Rare Books and Printed Material: Rare printed materials, including fine press and artists' books, are discoverable through UVic Libraries' catalogue.  Highlights include:

Featured Artists' Books

Robert Chaplin: The Double Dingle Jingle Plunger

Marcel Duchamp (facsimiles): De ou par Marcel Duchamp ou Rrose Selavy : (boite-en-valise) = From or by Marcel Duchamp or Rrose Selavy : (box in a valise) : museum in a box and Rotoreliefs

Colette Fu. Luoma, Yi Tiger Festival

Erica Van HornDisposal Bag and Envelope Interior Pin-up Calendar

Christine Kermaire: Strokephone : brain phone interface : uploading knowledge in the human brain

Steve McCaffery & b.p. Nichol: In England Now That Spring

Sandra Meigs: From a Cabin in the Woods

Joan Miró, Paul Eluard, Lacourière et FrélautA toute épreuve

Andy Warhol: Andy Warhol's index (book)

Fine and Small Presses

  • Barbarian Press
  • Black Sparrow Press
  • De Walden Press
  • Greenboathouse Press
  • Heavenly Monkey
  • Janus Press
  • Kelmscott Press
  • Moniker Press
  • Swamp Press

Fine Binding

  • Fore-edge Painting: Aytoun, William Edmondstoune. Lays of the Scottish Cavaliers. London: William Blackwood and Sons, MDCCCLXIII [1863]. Call Number: PR4047 L3 1863.
  • Jewelled Binding: Burns, Robert. Poems, chiefly in the Scottish dialect. Edinburgh : Printed for the author and sold by William Creech, M,DCC,LXXXVII. [1787]. Call Number: PR4300 1787 E3.
  • Bound by David Sellars: Tormis, Veljo. Lasuldud sõna = The word was sung.Trükikoda Folger Art AS = Printing house: Folger Art Ltd. [West Yorkshire] : bound by David Sellars, 2010. Call Number: ML3681 E8T67 2008.

 

Archives

Archives: Archival material relating to contemporary and historical book arts are searchable here. Notable archives relating to book arts include:

Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts

Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts:  This list provides an overview of the medieval and early modern manuscripts at UVic Libraries, including books of hours, deeds, charters, illuminated manuscript leaves, letters, and a papal bull.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.