LibGuides: Competitive Moots: Wilson Moot (Charter)

Wilson moot

The Wilson Moot home page

Legal Research Guides

The Practical Guide to Canadian Legal Research, 3d ed by Nancy McCormack, John Papadopoulos, Catherine Cotter; founding authors: J.R. Castel and O.K. Latchman
Call Number: Law Reserve KE250 C37 1996
ISBN: 9780779823611
Publication Date: 2010
See chapter 14, Constitutional Research, and specifically "research involving the Charter of Rights and Freedoms"

Legal Encyclopedias

Canadian Abridgment Digest Headings

CNL - Constitutional Law
Canadian Abridgment Digests (WestlawNext Canada)

Charter of Rights and Freedoms

The Charter of Rights and Freedoms, 7th ed by Hon. Robert J. Sharpe, Kent Roach
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781552215791
Publication Date: 2021
Fundamental Justice : Section 7 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, 2nd ed by Hamish Stewart
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KE4381.5 S74 2019
ISBN: 9781552212257
Publication Date: 2019
Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.
Constitutional Remedies in Canada, 2nd ed by Kent Roach
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KE4219 R62 1994
Publication Date: Looseleaf (1994 - )
Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.
The Canadian Charter of Rights, Annotated by Melanie Dunn et al
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF4483 C518L38
Publication Date: Looseleaf (1982 - )
Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.
Freedom of Conscience and Religion by Richard Moon
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KE4430 M66 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon.
The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms by Errol Mendes & Stéphane Beaulac
Call Number: KE4381.5 Z85C34 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Charter of Rights in Litigation: The Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada. by Jamal, Mahmud and Matthew Taylor.
ISBN: 0888041004
2 vol. Looseleaf. Annual Supplements added up to current year.
The Canadian Charter of Rights : prosecution and defence of criminal and other statutory offences by Roderick M. McLeod et al
Call Number: KF4483 C519 C365
Publication Date: 1983 - (loose-leaf)

Supreme Court of Canda Factums

SCC Case Information
The Supreme Court of Canada has published appellants’ and respondents’ factums since 2009, and in April 2013 the court began to publish interveners’ factums. Locate a case using the SCC Case Information database, and use the Factums link to obtain factums filed with the court in that case. (Source: legalresearch.org)
more...less...
sample case number 36784

Subject Headings

Canada. Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Government Policy / Social Science Evidence

Canada Commons
Platform for Canadian Electronic Library content. (Formerly desLibris)
The University of Victoria subscribe to the collections:
Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection
Canadian Health Research Collection
Canadian Public Policy Collection (federal, provincial, municipal, think tank)
Irwin Law Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
GALLOP (Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal)
Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal (GALLOPP), maintained by The Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada (APLIC), provides access to full text and/or citations to electronic legislative and government publications held in libraries of the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada.

Index to Federal Royal Commissions
This index provides bibliographic access to materials associated with almost 400 federal Royal Commissions that have taken place since Confederation. There are approximately 7000 items in the index that includes commission reports, briefs, submissions, evidence, working papers and other documents.
Print or microform copies of Royal Commissions are held in the McPherson Library. Check the library catalogue by title to locate.

Legislative Histories

Legislative histories provide details on the passage of legislation through a parliament or legislature. Legislation is introduced as a bill; once a bill is passed, and receives Royal Assent, it becomes a statute. A legislative history will include details on the progress of a bill through the House of Commons and the Senate, including readings, debates, and committee hearings. A history may also refer to speeches and news releases from the responsible minister, background documents, and on occasion, draft legislation. To start, determine the date and/or parliament and session the bill was introduced,

Your starting point for Canadian federal legislative histories is LEGISINFO.

To read a current version of Canadian federal law, go to the Canada Justice Laws website. To locate amendments consult the Table of Public Statutes

Consult also online newspapers and online policy collections such as the Canadian Public Policy collection. Use other library resources listed under the Find Articles tab.