Books - International Human Rights and Dispute Resolution - Law 373 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Library Search

What is Library Search? Watch the video.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, and updated throughout the year, this major reference work is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law.

Encyclopedia of Human Rights [electronic] by David P. Forsythe
Call Number: Internet Resource

ISBN: 9780195334029

Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopaedia of Human Rights by Bharat Singh and Udai Veer
Call Number: McPherson Library Reference JC571 B363

ISBN: 8188583235

Publication Date: 2004
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law [electronic] by John P. Grant; J. Craig Barker; Clive Parry
Call Number: Internet Resource

ISBN: 9780195389777

Publication Date: 2009

Introductory books

International Human Rights Law, 4th ed by Daniel Moeckli; Sangeeta Shah; Sandesh Sivakumaran; David Harris
Call Number: K3240 .I57 2022

ISBN: 9780198860112

Publication Date: 2022

This book explores the essentials of international human rights law, from foundational issues to substantive rights and systems of protection.
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law by Dinah Shelton (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9780199640133

Publication Date: 2013

Addressing all aspects of international human rights law, the Handbook consists of over forty chapters.
International law : doctrine, practice, and theory, 3rd ed by John H. Currie, Craig Forcese, Joanna Harrington, Valerie Oosterveld
Call Number: Electronic

Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to International Human Rights Law by Pietro Pustorino
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9789462655638

Publication Date: 2023

This book provides a general introduction to international human rights law. It discusses the theoretical, historical and legal foundations of international human rights law, and analysis the UN system and ECHR.
Texts and Materials on International Human Rights by Rhona Smith
Call Number: K3240 S645 2020

ISBN: 9780367221423

Publication Date: 2020

Also available as an ebook - click on the blue book icon

Selected Human Rights books

Dialogues on Human Rights and Legal Pluralism by René Provost (Editor); Colleen Sheppard (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9789400747098

Publication Date: 2012
Human Rights from a Third World Perspective: Critique, History & International Law by Jose-Manuel Barreto
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9781443866453

Publication Date: 2013
The Human Rights Covenants at 50: their past, present and future by Daniel Moeckli, Helen Keller, and Corina Heri
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9780192560278

Publication Date: 2018
Article by Article: The Universal Declaration of Human Rights for a New Generation by Johannes Morsink
Call Number: Electronic

Publication Date: 2022
Research handbook on the compliance in international human rights law by Morales Antoniazzi, Rainer Grote, and Davide Paris
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9781788971126

Publication Date: 2021

Oxford Commentary on International Law Series
This series provides commentary on many human rights treaties.
Human Rights - Peace Palace Library
This guide lists books and articles for the core human rights treaties, as well as resources to selected human rights books and articles.

Subject headings

You can also use the Subject Headings we assign to books to help you find useful books on your topic. Below are some of the Subject Headings relating to international human rights law.