LibGuides: History -- The Holocaust: Find Articles

Journal Titles

UVic Libraries holds some journals on this topic:

Antisemitism International (2003 - 2006)
Dapim: Studies on the Holocaust (2009 - present)
Dimensions (2002 - present)
Holocaust and Genocide Studies (1986 to present)
Holocaust Studies (2005 - present)
Idea: a journal of social issues (1996 to present)
Journal of Holocaust Education (1997 - present)
Studies in Christian-Jewish relations (2005 - present)
War crimes, genocide, & crimes against humanity (2005 - 2011)

Where is my Article?

The database will tell you everything you need to know about an article (the full citation, and additional information).

Often, the entire article is included in the database. Use PDF links or HTML links.
Sometimes you have to follow links from the database to the online article, often via our library catalogue. Use "Download PDF" links!
Sometimes, the article is only available in print, and you have to use the Library Catalogue to find out where the journal that holds the article is in the library. In this case, the "Download PDF" link will be replaced with information including the library, collection, and call number for the journal. Use the "Locate" button in the long record to determine which floor, and where on that floor, to visit to find the journal.
Sometimes, you'll need to request the article via Interlibrary Loan. Do this in the 'Get This' screen, or via the ILL request form.

Scholarly vs Popular Sources

Learn about:

Books vs. Journals, Newspapers and Magazines

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

What is Peer-Review?

Is my journal article scholarly? Use Ulrich's to be sure.

Scholarly Article Indexes

America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Guide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Humanities Abstracts Cites articles for more than 700 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and much more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts back to 1994.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Popular Magazines and News

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail Includes the full pages of The Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2012.
Libris Canadiana Index to Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.
Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2011) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2011
1951-2009. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1889 - 1997

Newspapers and Popular Magazines Subject Guide
The most comprehensive list of newspapers held by UVic Libraries.

Google Scholar

From Google Scholar, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Set your " scholar preferences' with Library Links to University of Victoria to see what's available at UVic Libraries and get full-text online where available.