Skip to Main Content

University
of Victoria

Research Methods in Linguistics

This is a library resource guide for LING204 Research Methodology.

References Sources

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics by Carol A. Chapelle (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781405194730
Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ebook or P29 E48 2006 for print edition
ISBN: 9780080448541
Publication Date: 2006-04-27
A comprehensive 14-volume scholarly work covering almost all topics in linguistics and related areas.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Philipp Strazny
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780203319208
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook or P29 I58 2003 for print edition
ISBN: 9780195139778
Publication Date: 2003-05-01

Linguistics handbook series

Oxford bibliographies. Linguistics. by [Oxford] : Oxford University Press
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Linguistics across all disciplines
The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching, 8 Volume Set by J. I. Liontas (Editor-In-Chief); TESOL International Association (As told to)
ISBN: 9781118784228
Publication Date: 2018-02-13

The World's Writing Systems by Peter T. Daniels (Editor); William Bright (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P211 W68
ISBN: 0195079930
Publication Date: 1996-02-08
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by Patrick Colm Hogan (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P29 C28 2011
ISBN: 9780521866897
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics by Mushira Eid (Editor); Alaa Elgibali (Editor); Manfred Woidich (Editor); Andrzej Zaborski (Editor); Kees Versteegh (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PJ6031 E53 2006
ISBN: 9004144730
Publication Date: 2005-12-30
Key Terms in Linguistics by Howard Jackson; Jackson
Call Number: Reference P29.5 J33 2007
ISBN: 9780826487414
Publication Date: 2008-02-06
Handbook of Psycholinguistics by Matthew Traxler (Editor); Morton Ann Gernsbacher (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P37 H364 2006
ISBN: 9780123693747
Publication Date: 2006-12-13

The Atlas of Languages by Bernard Comrie; Stephen Matthews; Maria Polinsky
Call Number: Ref P107 A87 2003
ISBN: 0816051232
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Atlas of Languages of Intercultural Communication in the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas by Stephen A. Wurm (Editor); Peter Muehlhaeusler (Editor); Darrell T. Tryon (Editor); International Council of Philosophy and Humanistic Staff
Call Number: Reference P130.5 A87
ISBN: 3110134179
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Trends in linguistics
Atlas of North American English by William Labov (Editor); Sharon Ash (Editor); Charles Boberg
Call Number: Ebook or Reference/Atlas Cases PE2808 L26
ISBN: 9783110167467
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Data of the North American English variation and dialects
Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger of Disappearing by Stephen A. Wurm
Call Number: Reference P40.5 L33A86 2001
ISBN: 9231037986
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Ethnologue: Languages of the World by Raymond G. Gordon (Editor)
Call Number: Online Edition
ISBN: 9781556711596
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages.
A Map of Languages in the United States
The MLA Language Map is for students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.
Portrait of official-language communities in Canada, 2006 census [electronic resource]
Call Number: HA741.5 2006 92-592
Publication Date: [Ottawa] : Statistics Canada, 2009.
To use this software please ask at Music & Media Desk
UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger by editor-in-chief, Christopher Moseley
Call Number: Online version
Publication Date: 2010
The World Atlas of Language Structures by Martin Haspelmath; Matthew S. Dryer
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0191531243
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

UVic Libraries's Guide to Statistics Resources
This guide is designed to help you find Social Sciences statistics, primarily from Statistics Canada and the Canadian Census.
Language Statistics
Language Statistics by Countries
Portrait of Official Language Minorities in Canada

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2024 10:47 AM
URL: https://libguides.uvic.ca/ling-methods
Print Page

Subjects: Languages, Linguistics

Tags: corpora, linguistics analysis, linguistics; research methods;

Creative Commons License

This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.