LibGuides: POLI 375 Gender Politics in China : Find Articles

About This Page

This page features links to databases of journal articles from the disciplines of Women's / Gender Studies, Asian Studies, and Political Science.

You can also search for individual journal titles using the Library catalogue "Journal Title" search.

Consult the Library's " Databases by Subjec"t list for Pacfic and Asian list, including historical and current non-English material.

Google Scholar

Journal Titles

China Review by Hong Kong : Chinese University Press, c1991
Call Number: McPherson Library DS701 C525. Current issues in Periodicals.
Publication Date: 1991 - present
Academic, provides a different perspective that publications from mainland China.

China-Related Journals:

Asian Survey
China Journal (formerly The Australian Journal of Chinese Affairs)
The China Quarterly
Critical Asian Studies (formerly Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars)
The Journal of Asian Studies
Journal of Chinese Anthropology and Sociology
Journal of Contemporary China
Modern China
Pacific Affairs
positions: east asia cultures critique

Gender-Related Journals:

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Feminist Studies
Women’s Studies Quarterly
Genders
Gender and History
Differences: a Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
GLQ: a Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Feminist Review
Gender and History
Gender and Society
Women & Politics
International Feminist Journal of Politics

Best Bets

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains principally western-language articles and book chapters published since 1971, on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to all parts of Asia (East, Southeast, and South Asia). Includes: Asian Survey, China Journal, The China Quarterly, Critical Asian Studies, The Journal of Asian Studies, Modern China, positions: east asia cultures critique, China Review.

Women's Studies International 1972-
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to present.
PAIS International with Archive
Public Affairs Information Servicecontains references from journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more, from over 120 countries throughout the world (1915-)
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes about 1800 journals published world-wide in sociology and related disciplines from the 1950s to present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
The largest and most comprehensive journal index for the discipline of political science providing citations, abstracts and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields (1975-present).

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This database indexes both core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences.
Web of Science Cited Reference Searching
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
JSTOR
Contains the full-text of a thousand academic journals. Includes a Citation Locator.

Other Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

gender Inn
gender Inn is a searchable database providing access to over 8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature. gender Inn is continually updated. All records are carefully indexed using a search index
International Institute of Social History: ViVa Women's History
Viva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish, are selected from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. All bibliographic descriptions are stored in the ViVa database. It now contains more than 11,000 records describing articles from 1975 onwards. It is online and freely accessible.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Women in Politics has been developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The database is regularly up-dated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. It covers titles representing international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives.

Humanities Abstracts
Cites articles for more than 700 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and much more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts back to 1994.

Summon search

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries search engine

What is Summon?

Use Summon to search for fulltext scholary articles from all Library collections and databases, including those listed in the box to the left. Be sure to include the word CHINA in your search, along with other terms that will focus your search on gender, modernity and your topic. Use the post search filters to narrow results. READ THE ABSTRACTS PROVIDED with each citation. Select and SAVE these citations for EXPORT TO REFWORKS.

Summon also searches and links to chapters in some ebook collections, e.g. Springer ebooks.