LibGuides: Music Education: Find Books

Call Number areas

M1990 - M1994 children's songs

ML3830 - ML3838 music psychology

MT1 - theory of music education

MT6 - general music theory

MT10 - MT11 teacher's manuals

MT20 - MT32 special methods of education (e.g. Kodaly)

MT35 - ear training

MT70 - MT92 instrumentation and orchestraion

MT85 - conducting and score reading

MT170 - MT801 technique books arranged by instrument

MT820 - MT893 singing and voice

MT898 - MT949 techniques for children

In the Curriculum Library area (on the second floor) music materials are found in the 780 call number area

A select list of Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada by Helmut Kallman (Editor); Gilles Potvin (Editor); Kenneth Winters (Editor)
Call Number: ML106 C3E63 1992 (and online)
ISBN: 0802028810
Publication Date: 1992-10-20
Since its initial publication in 1981, Encyclopedia of Music in Canada has been recognized as a monumental record of the music of a country, an indispensable guide to all kinds of music: popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms. The latest version of the encyclopedia is available on the internet.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Bruno Nettl (Editor); Ruth M. Stone (Editor); James Porter (Editor); Timothy Rice (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 G37
ISBN: 0815310846
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including:cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples

Search the library catalogue

E-Books

Ebook collections in UVic Libraries

Biographies

Baker's biographical dictionary of music
Call Number: Music Reference ML105 B16 2001

Concise biographies of musicians and includes bibliographies of writings by and about persons listed. Also of note is Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Nicolas Slonimsky, editor emeritus ; Laura Kuhn, Baker's series advisory editor.
Call Number: Music Reference ML105 B16 2001
ISBN: 0028655257
Publication Date: 2000-12-22
The new Baker's covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original, articles of Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on the musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.

Historical editions of this work can be found online

summon search

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries search engine. Search articles, books, videos and more

What is Summon?