Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Mechanical Engineering

A guide to mechanical engineering resources in UVic Libraries

UVicSpace

UVicSpace, our institutional repository, preserves and provides access to the digital scholarly works of UVic faculty, students, and staff.

From articles and conferences to reports and electronic theses and dissertations, UVicSpace is a quick, easy, and innovative way to increase the visibility and impact of your research.

  • Share your research with a global audience, faster, for increased citations and impact.
  • Be discovered through Google and Google Scholar. You can access full text online, and search full text within UVicSpace.
  • Comply easily with granting agency regulations for funding accountability and open communication.
  • Avoid broken links to your work with permanent web links.
  • Preserve your research long term and let the library manage your files safely and securely.

Enter UVicSpace

UVic Theses

1. Use the Catalogue to find UVic theses. 

Choose "Title begins with" if you know the title of the thesis. 

Choose Keyword anywhere to find theses on a topic or from a particular department. 

Eg. thesis victoria mechanical engineering

2. Recently published theses (2017-2018 ) are also available electronically in UVic's institutional repository , UVicSpace. See the list of  UVic  Mechanical Engineering theses available in UVicSpace.

3. To search for theses and dissertations written at the University of Victoria until 2014 connect to Dissertations and Theses@ UVic. Authorized UVic users are able to download the full text of dissertations and theses published after 1996 .

Electronic theses and dissertations

All UVic theses and dissertations are submitted electronically to UVicSpace, our institutional repository: a digital archive of open access, scholarly works by UVic students, faculty and staff. According to the UVic calendar - under Deposition of Theses and Dissertations:

The results of research conducted at the University of Victoria are required to be made available to the public in a timely fashion, and so theses and dissertations must be placed in the institutional repository, UVicSpace, immediately following submission of the thesis/dissertation approval form.

People interested in your work can find, read and download the full text of your work from the ETD (Theses and Dissertation) collection from anywhere in the world, without passwords, fees or interlibrary loans. Some students may opt to withhold their thesis or dissertation for 1 year.

Ready to get started?

The How to Submit ETDs guide outlines the process you will follow to prepare your digital submission, including registering for an account in UVicSpace before you defend your thesis or dissertation. You won't submit to UVicSpace until after you defend and all your corrections are made.

For more information on policies and procedures for theses and dissertations, please refer to the Faculty of Graduate Studies website.

Your ETD will:

  • be indexed and findable through Google, Google Scholar, OAIster, and the Theses Canada Portal
  • be full text searchable within UVicSpace
  • have a permanent link you can include in your resume or email to friends and family

The increased visibility and accessibility of your work can lead to discovery by researchers in your field! A number of UVic students have been contacted about their ETDs in UVicSpace: by publishers interested in publishing the ETD as a book or excerpt, and by other researchers who want the student involved in new, related research projects.

Visit the ETD Collection in UVicSpace to see the latest submissions.

More resources

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.