LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Find Articles

Google Scholar

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-reviewed articles have been evaluated by several researchers or subject specialist in the academic community prior to accepting it for publication. Also known as scholarly or refereed.

Verify that a journal is peer reviewed (refereed) by looking up the journal title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Remember that there may be content in peer reviewed journals which is not peer reviewed. These may be book reviews, letters, or front and back matter. In most cases, though, the research articles within will be peer reviewed. Consult a librarian if you're not sure.

Ask Us

Chat with us.

E-mail us.

Text us.

Visit us.

Phone us.

Search everything

Search the catalogue using Library Search

Find Articles in these indexes, databases and ejournal collections

ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available here together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Business Source Complete
Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 . Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
GEOBASE (Engineering Village 2)
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,700 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
MathSciNet
Covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 75 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. CoRR was founded in 1991 and is now maintained and operated by Cornell Tech.

Journals

Selected journals to help you with your research

Find Newspaper Articles

Access World News Access World News provides extensive global news coverage at any level: local, state, regional, national and international.
89 newspapers from British Columbia are also included, going back to 2004 (some are earlier). These include the 100 Mile House Free Press, Gulf Islands Driftwood, Saanich News, and Oak Bay News.
Canadian Newsstand (with Pacific newspapers) 1987 to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and the regional BC and Yukon titles.
Regional Business News Full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 80 sources.
Global NewsBank Contains information on current issues and events selected from more than 1500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency tramsmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government documents.