LibGuides: Indigenous Governance: Find Articles

Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations
Native American Ethnobotany Database
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This database indexes journals, case comments, books, book reviews, theses, essay collections, and seminar proceedings.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database that is the web version of the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Arctic and Antarctic Regions
Arctic resources from the University of Alberta, Scott Polar Research Institute, Library of Congress, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Arctic Bibliography. 1800-present
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the 16th century to present.

Canadian Reference Centre
Canadian and international periodicals and newspapers including Alberta Sweetgrass, Ontario Birchbark, Saskatchewan Sage, Tribal College Journal and Windspeaker.

HeinOnline
Full text access to US and Canadian indexed law journals, the US Federal Register 1936-1980, US Supreme Court cases from 1754 to 2003, and a variety of sources for US Treaties and International Agreements
JSTOR
JSTOR preserves and archives the complete back runs of important scholarly journals. 1124 online academic journals. Date coverage varies from the 1890s to 2-5 years ago.
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

Select Journals

Service Plan - British Columbia. Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation. 2017 -

This plan outlines how the Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation plans to support the government’s priorities regarding reconciliation.

Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, & Resistance

The journal seeks to actively resist the effects of colonialism, racism, and the subjugation of Indigenous Peoples. The journal promotes scholarship, of both student and faculty, and partners with Indigenous communities to publish writings that will bring attention to their specific situations and legal battles.

The Indigenous Law Journal at the University of Toronto, Faculty of Law

The Indigenous Law Journal is a student-run refereed legal journal at the University of Toronto. It is the first and only Canadian legal journal to exclusively publish articles regarding Indigenous legal issues

The Indigenous World

Includes links to the full text of the yearbooks published by the International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs

Indigenous Policy Journal

Publishes articles, commentary, reviews, news, and announcements concerning Native American and international Indigenous affairs, issues, events, nations, groups and media.

Wicazo Sa Review

An interdisciplinary journal for Indigenous peoples of the Americas to take possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits