Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

New to UVic Libraries?

New student? Here's how to get started at UVic Libraries

Find books, eBooks, media resources, and articles

How to find materials for your assignment?

We have hundreds of thousands of print books, eBooks, articles and a wide range of media items available for you to use.  There are a number of different ways to find information relevant to your assignment. Here are the basic steps to get you started.

Library Search (aka Summon)

The library Search box is a good place to start your search. 

Enter your search terms in the box in the centre of the library homepage (as shown below). There are three tabs: Search; Books & media; and Course reserves.

screenshot of UVic Libraries' homepage and search box

Search (AKA Summon) searches across the majority of UVic Libraries' resources (books, articles, databases, videos, reports etc)

Books & media searches the print books and eBooks in our collection (AKA Voyager)

Course reserves searches course reserves system

Once you run the Summon search, a list of search results will be returned. Results can be narrowed down in many ways including: format (i.e. eBooks, newspaper articles, peer-reviewed journal articles or videos); publication date; full-text availability; and, language.

Top tip! If you want to limit your search to items available to you online, click Full Text Online under the REFINE YOUR SEARCH menu in the top left of the screen.

Subject Guides (aka Libguides)

Subject guides are created by librarians to highlight and recommend the best books, journals, and databases to get you started.

For example, if you are enrolled in a psychology class check out the psychology guide for the best resources (journals, encyclopedias, databases, and videos) and research tips.

Databases

The UVic Libraries also subscribes to a large number of interdisciplinary and subject specific databases. Start by considering the frequently-used databases.  

Other databases can be found by searching by words in the database title, or browsing by subject, and a few databases are specific for searching newspapers.

Research Anywhere guide

Check out the Research Anywhere guide and these research tips for more in-depth details.

Contact askus@uvic.ca if you have any questions.

Consult a librarian

Librarians available for consultations

If you're looking for materials for your assignments and you would like advice on finding academic resources then contact a librarian or email askus@uvic.ca.

Citing and writing help

Citations & writing help

Your course instructor will state the required citation style guide for your course. Please consult your course syllabus for specific details.

Citation style guides provide rules on how to cite your sources for your assignment. 

The most common citation styles are APA, MLA and Chicago Manual of Style. Check out our Citation Help page to learn how to cite and see the different citation styles.

The Centre for Academic Communication (CAC) offers support in academic writing, reading, and speaking. Virtual tutoring appointments are available over email, through Zoom, and on the phone.

Learning Commons

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.