Medical Images

Health Animations of various health conditions like allergies, diabetes, depression and more from HealthCentral.com.

Over 200,000 radiological images published in selected, peer-reviewed journals. You can search by anatomy, imaging technique, patient age and gender.

Contains over 1000 labeled histological features are labled and have accompanying functional descriptions. All of this information is accessible though an alphabetical index and a search engine.

PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to Center for Disease Control and Prevention's pictures. Use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. Content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

A searchable database of over 12,000 high-quality dermatology images. The database is sponsored by Johns Hopkins Medical Institution.

Contains over 23,000 images of skin disease.

A collection of realistic looking recordings which will help improve your ECG skills.

Use the Advanced Image Search to limit your results to images labeled for reuse.

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching resources of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners.

Selected searchable databases of high quality medical images from the NHS.

The National Medical Digital Repository has been developed for medical teaching and learning in Canada and will be available to all Canadian medical schools through the A.C.M.C. with the hope of creating pan-Canadian collaboration and cooperation. The National Medical Digital Repository will permit Canadian medical teachers to contribute, collect, store, use and share their teaching material, thus ultimately benefiting all teachers and learners.

HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.

Images, photos, multimedia resources in medicine (there is a section on free images)

This exhibit displays hundreds of images from medical and natural history texts, most of which were printed before 1800. They are organized by theme: diagnostics, human body, imaging, instruments, physician-patient culture, portraits, public health, reproduction, reproduction instruments, therapeutics. The Clendening Library encourages educational use of the images at no charge.

The tutorials listed below are interactive health education resources from the Patient Education Institute. Using animated graphics each tutorial explains a procedure or condition in easy-to-read language. You can also listen to the tutorial.

These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics.

LONI, from UCLA, seeks to improve understanding of the brain in health and disease. The laboratory is dedicated to the development of scientific approaches for the comprehensive mapping of the brain structure and function.

Bio-image Search enables discovery of biomedical images from aggregated sources that you can use, i.e., images in the Public Domain or with Creative Commons licenses.

From the University of Washington.

Visual images provided by the National Cancer Institute -- extensive browsing capabilities.

From UC Davis. It simulates interactive eye motion and allows various neurological pathologies to be simulated. Requires Macromedia Shockwave plug-in.

Uses video demonstrations and narrative descriptions in an online tutorial that presents the anatomical foundations of the neurologic exam and provides examples of both normal and abnormal conditions as exhibited by patients.

Access to approximately 70,000 digital images from the History of Medicine Division including portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.

This site is devoted to providing access to women's health related images. Because of the graphic nature of the material some individuals may prefer not to view these images which are provided for educational purposes only.

Produced by the National History of Medicine.

The Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology is a database of images drawn from the vast clinical experience of The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary specialists and their colleagues around the world. It's intended to serve as a visual reference and educational supplement for ophthalmologists, general physicians, and medical students.

A continually-updated collection of scientific images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD.

Provides links to prerecorded 1-hour long webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States since January 2004. You need Flash to view videos after July 15, 2007 whle before this you require RealPlayer. You must disable pop-up blockers.

"The Trauma Image Database is intended as a repository of quality, useful trauma images on the internet. It is appropriately classified and searchable, with images freely available for educational use. Images are directed towards healthcare professionals and can be disturbing."

Contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education and Office of Media Relations, National Cancer Institute. Except where noted on the image details page, Visuals Online images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission. If you use an image, you should credit the listed source and/or author.

A web resource with images, text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and exam items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.

A unique collection, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science, including Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, illuminated Persian books and more.

4,500 full page plates and illustrations from rare books in the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, Univ. of Toronto.

Features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in colour—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn. (Bartelby.com edition)

Online 3D human anatomy educational resource. The most comprehensive, accurate and detailed 3D models of the human body.

Photographs and diagrams of human anatomy. Provided by the Lane Medical Library, Stanford School of Medicine.

This site provides high resolution images from the National Library of Medicine's anatomical atlas collection with titles spanning from the 14th through the 18th centuries.

Welcome to InstantAnatomy.net a website with illustrations of the Human Body
to aid the learning of Human Anatomy with diagrams, podcasts and revision questions.

This site can be used as a good study aid for anatomy. Each site is reviewed, authors are identified and page layout is critiqued. Screenshots of each site are also included.

The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM's 1986 Long-Range Plan. It is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals.

Drawings and definitions for human anatomy.

Good for patient education.

From the University of Washington.