LibGuides: MEDS 433: Animals &amp; Human Health: Find Articles

Best Bets

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
PubAg PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Useful Databases

Anthropology Plus Focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
AnthroSource Contains publications and research of the American Anthropological Association in full-text.
Arctic and Antarctic Regions Indexes Arctic resources from the University of Alberta, Scott Polar Research Institute, Library of Congress, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the Arctic Bibliography.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
ASTIS - Arctic Science and Technology Information System The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains over 50,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. ASTIS is maintained by the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, and is made available for free with support from the Canadian Polar Commission.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1986 as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 370 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
BioRxiv bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content and are checked for plagiarism.
Biosis Citation Index Life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing. This resource is current up to December 2015.
Canadian Health Research Collection This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of health and medical research.
Canadian Public Policy Collection Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. Provides indexing and abstracting for over 3,000 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1981. Subjects covered include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, behavioral sciences, consumer health, health management, and education.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. This will search all EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA and NHSEED.
Environment Index This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GEOBASE (Engineering Village 2) GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,700 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles.
Native Health Database Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews Series A: Human and Experimental Provides comprehensive indexing of analytical methods, foods, physiology and biochemistry, human health and nutrition, nutritional disorders and therapeutic nutrition. Includes some full text.
Oceanic Abstracts Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. This database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
PsycINFO Resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubAg PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
ToxNet Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Federal Sciences Libraries Network (formerly known as WAVES) WAVES contains bibliographic information about the published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences currently held in the collections of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. [Select "Limit to the DFO collection"]
Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts CAB Direct is the most thorough and extensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, agriculture, natural resources and health incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health.
Zoological Record - Web of Science Zoological Record (ZR) is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. More than 140 years of experience has made ZR a respected resource for: Information from every field in animal biology; projects in academic, government, and commercial organizations; Reliable and in-depth information searches. The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine & Public Health
"Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience. NLM selects materials from over 1,400 non-commercial publishing sources and supplements disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public)."

MEDS 433: Animals & Human Health

Search Google Scholar

Best Bets

Useful Databases