Skip to Main Content
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

BIOL 461/561

This guide has been created to provide assistance for students in BIOL 461/561 who are working on their research assignment

Help Video

Search Web of Science (WOS)

This video instructs you on how to find peer-reviewed articles in the database Web of Science (https://webapp.library.uvic.ca/databases/details.php?id=80&return=letter__W). 

The Web of Science is a bibliographic database of scholarly articles from 22,000 peer-reviewed journals worldwide. The platform provides tools for advanced search, citation analysis and bibliometrics.

Attribution to UCSantaCruz Library for use of this video. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

General Search Tips

General Search Tips

The default search is set to All Fields.  Sometimes All Fields search is too broad, as it will also search information like author addresses, leading to unexpected results. By selecting Topic from the drop down menu, you can search the title, abstract, author keywords and Keywords Plus. You can also change the Index Date.

The default search is the Web of Science Core Collection. You can search other databases, or all databases. Hover over the database for a description.

You can rearrange the order of your results. The default is set to sort by Relevance. You can change this by selecting the drop down menu to the right of the Export button.

Sorting by Citations: highest first, can be very useful for finding the most well known articles in a topic.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.