LibGuides: Canadian Studies 101: Search tools and resources for Canadian Studies

Search tools

Library Search

The best search tool for finding library materials is Library Search, which is the main SEARCH box on the Libraries' homepage. It searches most of the Libraries' collection, all at once. It is great for finding any topic to do with Canada.

Library Search works a lot like Google or other search engines in that you don't need to know any fancy search strategies. Simply begin by typing in a few words that describe what you're looking for. If you're not happy with your search results, try changing your search words, or try some of the search filters.

If you are unable to visit the library, you can focus on accessing ONLINE materials, that can be accessed through your computer. Look for items that say "download PDF".

Other research databases

The library also has other databases that contain Canadian content. You can explore them, as well as their descriptions, here.

Canadian Encyclopedia: Good for short introductions to various Canadian topics

The Canadian Encyclopedia
ISBN: 0771020996
The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country. Today, the number of articles in the Encyclopedia – more than 19,500 bilingual – is roughly four times the original total and growing (about 60 articles are revised or created every month). The list of more than 5,000 contributors includes David Suzuki, Margaret Atwood, Piers Handling, Daniel Latouche, the late Pierre Berton and Marc Laurendeau.

The Canadian Encyclopedia is a good resource to explore if you're trying to pick a topic to write about. If you are having difficultly deciding what to research, you can browse it for everything from sports, history, famous Canadians, culture, Indigenous peoples, and more!