Skip to main content
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Finding articles when the link is broken/not working

This guide provides support and answers for some of the more common technical issues you may encounter when accessing the online collection.

Workaround 1: Use the Journal & newspaper title search

Let's say you're trying to access the full text of this article...

Berghel, H. (2017). Lies, damn lies, and fake news. Computer, 50(2), 80-85. doi:10.1109/MC.2017.56

...but the link to the full text is taking you to a blank or incorrect page:

Go to the Libraries' homepage (http://www.uvic.ca/library), click on the Search options menu, and choose Journal & newspaper titles.  Enter the title of the journal (not the title of the article) into the search box.

screenshot showing where to find journal and newspaper title search

Look at the year your article was published and choose the link to the database that includes that year.

screenshot showing journal access options

Find the list of issues for the journal and find the corresponding year, volume and issue identified in your article citation.

screenshot showing all journal issues by date

Scan the table of contents for the article you are seeking:

Screenshot showing the journal issue table of contents

Congratulations, you've found the article!

Loading

Workaround 2: Search by DOI

Let's say you're trying to access the full text of this article...

Berghel, H. (2017). Lies, damn lies, and fake news. Computer, 50(2), 80-85. doi:10.1109/MC.2017.56

...but there is no link to the full text:

If there is a hyperlinked DOI on the page, clicking on the DOI should route you directly to the platform where the full text is located.

Note: in order for this to work off-campus, you must be logged in to UVic with your Netlink ID.

screenshot showing linked doi to access full text

Workaround 3: Search Google Scholar

Let's say you're trying to access the full text of this article...

Berghel, H. (2017). Lies, damn lies, and fake news. Computer, 50(2), 80-85. doi:10.1109/MC.2017.56

...but the link to the full text is taking you to a blank page:

Step 1: Go to the Google Scholar link on the Libraries' website and enter the title of the article into the search box.

image of Google Scholar article title search example

Step 2: Click on the Get this @ UVic link.

image showing Google Scholar search results page