It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education - A Welcome to the Library for Faculty of Education Students
New undergraduate or graduate student in the Faculty of Education? Get a quick library orientation by viewing this library guide. And, most importantly, welcome to UVic Libraries! We're glad you're here.
Why use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks?
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, or tertiary sourcesare often overlooked sources of scholarly knowledge. If you want a great definition of a theory that goes beyond Wikipedia, I highly recommend these titles held by UVic Libraries.
Comprehensive dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks on the subject of Education
SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers and students with research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods, conduct their research, and write up findings.
SAGE Knowledge is a searchable social science eBook platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content. Formerlly known as Sage Reference Online, Sage Handbooks Online and Sage Encylopedias.
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Discipline specific encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks on Education held by the UVic Libraries