LibGuides: English as a Foreign Language: Find articles

Sources for articles with Canadian content

The Canadian Encyclopedia
ISBN: 0771020996
The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country. Today, the number of articles in the Encyclopedia – more than 19,500 bilingual – is roughly four times the original total and growing (about 60 articles are revised or created every month). The list of more than 5,000 contributors includes David Suzuki, Margaret Atwood, Piers Handling, Daniel Latouche, the late Pierre Berton and Marc Laurendeau.

Canadian newspapers

Canadian Newsstand (with Pacific newspapers) 1987 to current. Includes major and medium market Canadian newspapers from across Canada, and the regional BC and Yukon titles.

Canadian magazines and journals

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) Canadian and international periodicals including The Globe and Mail (1985 - fulltext); Maclean's weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials. Some material is in French.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.

Translation features in some databases

Databases found on the EBSCOhost or ProQuest platforms will allow you to set the search interface to your preferred language. (The default is English.)

EBSCOhost:

ProQuest:

Search options for finding articles

Depending on the topic you are thinking of writing about, you may want to explore some of the Libraries' more specialized research databases. You can browse lists of databases by subject area.

If your topic is multidisciplinary, meaning it might fall into a few areas (education, psychology, etc...) you may want to search several databases, or, you may want to search using a broader search tool, like Library Search, or Google Scholar.