LibGuides: ANTH 319 Research Methods in Archaeology and Biological Anthropology : Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Scholarly Sources

"Authority is contextual and constructed' is another pillar of the ACRL Information literacy framework. Simply stated, what 'counts' as scholarly depends on the context, and on a set of social constructions. These consideratons are fluid, they are not fixed. Some of the relevant context is about the mode of communication (twitter vs an academic article) and some of it is based on you (how you use the information, what additional informaiton you provide, what you are trying to say or do in your writing). Disciplines also have conventions and standards for what is considered scholarly or popular.

Less scholarly sources can be used to humanize a topic, add a storytelling element, bring it up to current day, as examples, to individualize a generalization, and for many more reasons. As long as YOU use them intentionally, with purpose, they are usable.

Limiting your search results to "peer reviewed" is the easist way to limit your results to scholarly articles, as books and other formats are not peer reviewed, and magazines, newspapers and other popular article sources will be removed.

Scholarly Databases for Anthropology

To see a full list of all the research databases offered by UVic Libraries, go to Databases. Recommendations for specific topics or disciplines are below:

General databases for anthropology

Abstracts in Anthropology bstracts in Anthropology (AAX) is a comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume providing coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.

Annual Review of Anthropology The Annual Review of Anthropology covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Anthropology Plus Focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
AnthroSource Contains publications and research of the American Anthropological Association in full-text.
eHRAF World Cultures A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

Databases for cultural or linguistic anthropology

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Abstracts and indexes of international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and index of the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Pacific and Asian Studies, Social Work, and Sociology.

Databases for archaeology

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Canada Commons Platform for Canadian Electronic Library content. (Formerly desLibris) The University of Victoria subscribe to the collections: Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection Canadian Health Research Collection Canadian Public Policy Collection (federal, provincial, municipal, think tank) Irwin Law Collection
Primary research and opinion publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA Online) AATA Online is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. It has been managed and published by the Getty since 1983. AATA Online contains over 170,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates. The database also includes selected subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute’s own conservation and scientific research projects or as part of specific collaborative projects in which the Institute is involved.
Archaeological Data Serivice - UK
The Archaeology Data Service (ADS) is the only accredited digital repository for heritage data in the UK. The ADS has over 20 years of experience safeguarding digital data and ensuring its accessibility for re-use.

Databases for Ethnohistory

America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts Index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Databases for medical anthropology

Medline - (Web of Science) The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database.
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.

Databases for Indgenous topics in anthropology

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) Initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library to provide a place to find resources for Indigenous studies. Electronic copies of books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps are included.

Focus on a geographic area

ASTIS - Arctic Science and Technology Information System The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains over 50,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. ASTIS is maintained by the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, and is made available for free with support from the Canadian Polar Commission.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Latin America Data Base The Latin America Data Base (LADB) is an on-line publisher and information resource. LADB produces three weekly electronic publications (Sourcemex, NotiCen and NotiSur) and maintains an on-line searchable data base of over 24,000 articles (from back issues of LADB publications) as well as Latin American journals.

Basque Database The Basque Database covers books, articles, chapters, dissertations, films and other materials on Basque Studies written or produced after 1994. The subject emphases are Basque history, language and culture.

Focus on Medieval people, places and things

International Medieval Bibliography Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale Online: International Established by the Centre d´Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (Université de Poitiers).Provides a current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). Currently comprises 40,000 titles from 1958 to 2003.

ANTH 319 Research Methods in Archaeology and Biological Anthropology

Browzine for Anthropology

Journal Search - UVic Libraries