LibGuides: Kath-Copy Biology 2023Superceded: Journal Article Databases

Start with these databases to find journal articles

Google Scholar Tip: If using Google Scholar it is recommended to connect via the Libraries website from the "Libraries Databases" page. The Libraries have uploaded our licensed content to Google Scholar so as to let UVic researcher know when access is available and will not be blocked by a pay wall.

Biology & Life Sciences Research Databases

Web of Science Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Scopus
Scopus indexes content from 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers to provide a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts via author profiles, and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
SciVal
SciVal is a web-based analytics solution with unparalleled power and flexibility that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 20,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide. SciVal allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark relative to peers, identify potential strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
**Users will be required to login with an account username and password**
BioOne High-impact bioscience research journals.

bioRxiv - The preprint server for Biology bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

Biodiversity Heritage Library Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
Springer Nature Experiments (Formerly Springer Protocols) Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences with Springer Nature Experiments. Experiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with the most relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
Oceanic Abstracts Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. This database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Forest Science Database Resource for forest and wood science, developed by CABI Publishing. Will be of particular interest to those actively involved in research on all aspects of forestry and forest products. Covers scientific developments in forestry, agroforestry and wood science as well.
Zoological Record - Web of Science Zoological Record (ZR) is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. More than 140 years of experience has made ZR a respected resource for: Information from every field in animal biology; projects in academic, government, and commercial organizations; Reliable and in-depth information searches. The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.
Medline - (Web of Science) The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1986 as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 370 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate the world's leading journals and their impact and influence in the global research community. It is the recognized authority for evaluating journals.
Biosis Citation Index Life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing. This resource is current up to December 2015.
Birds of North America Online Database of American ornithology complete with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. Each species account contains recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.

Does UVic subscribe to a specific journal title?

Methods to find out whether UVic subscribes to a specific journal title - Choose one of the following search strategies:

1) Search by the journal title, using the Libraries E-Journals A-Z list.

2) Browse by journal subject category, using the Libraries E-journals by subject web page. Explore these subject categories: