LibGuides: HSTR 440: Disease, medicine and society in the era of plagues: Find Journal Articles

Secondary Sources: Journal Articles

Scholarly journal articles are a valuable secondary source and can be found in disciplinary scholarly disciplinary article databases, such as these that index the literature of History, Medicine and Medieval Studies. These are created by and for scholars in their disciplines, and use the tools, language, descriptors and more from each discipline:

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Guide on published writing on British and Irish history covering the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Medline with Full Text (EBSCO) Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.
International Medieval Bibliography Comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

Note that some of these index articles and some provide full text as well, but all of them are linked to UVic Libraries collections,so you can click through to get the full text from our various subscriptions, other databases, and archival hosting sites like JStor and Project Muse. These latter sources aren't designed for searching, rather, they house back issues of a few journals from many disciplines, and we link into them from the far more useful article databases.

The databases show us what's been published in the world of that subject, not only what's available at UVic, so you may need to click through to Interlibrary Loan to request an article from another library. Never pay for articles, let the libraries get them for you (it's free for students!).