LibGuides: International business: International business

Use this guide to discover websites and library databases containing information on economic, political, and business conditions in foreign countries.

Country profiles

A country profile may include topics such as a country's history, culture, politics, economy, risk, and the business or investment environment. They may also include a PESTLE or SWOT analysis.

Find country profiles in the following library databases, see notes for how to search:

Business Source Complete
Research database that provides a variety of content including peer-reviewed business journals, case studies, industry profiles, company profiles and SWOT analyses, market research reports, news, and more.

-- For country profiles -- search country name with Publication Type: Country Report. Specific publications to look for include: MarketLine - Country Profile, OECD - Economic Surveys, CountryWatch - Country Review, IHS Markit Country Monitor, and PRS Group - Political Risk Yearbook.

-- For specific topics -- search for articles by combining country name with your keywords. Example: Japan and etiquette
Passport
International statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.

-- For reports and analysis -- choose a topic under Economies (Business dynamics, Economy, finance & trade etc) or Consumers (Lifestyles, Population, Income & expenditure etc), scroll down to Country Reports and select your geography.

-- For statistics -- choose a topic and scroll down to Search Statistics to further refine your topic and choose your geography. Example: "Ease of doing business in" and Japan
Statista
Statista provides statistics, reports, and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.

-- Search broadly or browse to statistics, country outlooks, country reports, politics and society reports, and industry reports.
The Global Survey tool is not included in our subscription.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data. Includes quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environment in more than 180 countries, including analysis of trade policies and investment climate.
Nexis Uni
Includes company and industry profiles, analyst reports, SEC filings, and business news sources.

-- Search broadly and use filters or try the Guided Search: What are you interested in? > Country info > [enter country name] > And show me... > Country risk overview or Political risk overview or Economic Overview or Recent news stories.

-- Look specifically for Business Monitor International (BMI) - Country Risk Reports, a wide range of industry sectors are covered as well as political risk, finance, economic indicators, macroeconomic performance, and the business operating environment for a number of countries, including emerging markets and industrialized countries.

Report examples (PPT)
See screenshots of above resources using Japan as an example (pulled January 2021)

Industry & market information

Find global industry and market statistics and reports in the following library databases:

IBISWorld
Use to find comprehensive market research reports for Canadian, US, Chinese, and global industries. Reports cover industry structure, trends, competitive landscape and operating conditions including environmental, supply, and demand impacts. Search by keyword or NAICS code.
Passport
International statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
Statista
Statista provides statistics, reports, and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
The Global Survey tool is not included in our subscription.

Data & statistics

Official, reputable, and harmonized sources for country economic statistics.

World Bank: Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
IMF eLibrary Data
Authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases including Predefined Country Reports; International Financial Statistics (IFS); Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); & Government Finance Statistics (GFS).
Trade Statistics (International Trade Centre)
Provides indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and the role of competitors. A limited version of Trade Map is accessible without registration for product trade flows up to the 4-digit level of the Harmonized System (HS) and for trade in services.
OECD iLibrary
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) features its books, papers and statistics, and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. The OECD iLibrary contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). Excellent for comparative social and economic data.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNctadStat)
The United Nations' focal point for the integrated treatment of trade and development and the interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development. UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Most of the time series cover long periods, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all economies of the world.
United Nations Comtrade
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year. UN Comtrade is considered the most comprehensive trade database available with more than 1 billion records.
United Nations Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Trade Organization (WTO) International trade and tariff data
Interactive access to the most up-to-date WTO trade statistics. Includes links to trade profiles, tariff profiles and services profiles.

Searching the web

Beyond the library there are numerous websites which may provide additional information, see below for just a few examples.

Quality sources are often buried, use targeted Google searches and look out for content from:

Governments (trade and statistical agencies)
International organizations
Regulatory agencies
Trade associations
Professional research/consulting firms

Michigan State University - GlobalEDGE
Statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions for every country.
Export Development Canada - Country Info
At-a-glance profiles which also gather links to other resources.
Lex Mundi - Guides To Doing Business
Provides general information about legal and business infrastructures in jurisdictions around the world.
U.S. Department of Trade - Country Commerical Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations and business customs for more than 70 major markets.
U.S. Department of State - Investment Climate Statements
Country-specific information on the business climates of more than 170 countries and economies.
Social Progress Index
Provides multiple measures of countries' social progress and well being, including basic needs such as nutrition, water and sanitation, and shelter; foundations of well being such as access to information and communications; and opportunity, such as access to advanced education.
Transparency International
Rates and ranks countries by corruption and openness.

Evaluating sources

With any resource, be sure to approach it with a critical eye and consider its authority, purpose, content, and currency.

Authority:

Who is the author? Are they qualified to write on this topic? Do they have valid credentials?
Are the affiliated with an institution? Does it display any bias?
Who is the publisher? Does it display any bias?
What types of resources do they typically publish?

Purpose:

What is the purpose of this information? To inform, teach, sell, entertain, persuade?
Do the authors make their intentions or biases clear?
Does the purpose suit your research?

Content:

How well does the resource relate to your topic?
Is it at an appropriate level?
Is it supported by evidence?
Does it have footnotes or references?
Has the information been reviewed by other experts (peer-review?)

Currency:

When was the work published?
Has it been revised or updated?
Is currency necessary for your research?

International business

Other topics?

Need help? -- Contact Business Librarian