It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web of ScienceReliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
AnthroSourceContains publications and research of the American Anthropological Association in full-text.
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Anthropology PlusFocused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
The Annual Review of Anthropology covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
For example:A 2015 review titled: An Evolutionary Anthropological Perspective on Modern Human Origins. https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/abs/10.1146/annurev-anthro-102313-025954#abstractSection
eHRAF World CulturesA cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links to book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods CasesSAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)Database of bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Bibliography of Native North AmericansThis resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Abstracts in Anthropologybstracts in Anthropology (AAX) is a comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume providing coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
Tips and explanations of how to use the library's journal databases are found here.
Here's a video to help you use journal databases effectively and efficiently.
More Article Best Bets
Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary resource with articles on a range of subjects including current events, health, humanities, sciences, and technology.
Sociological AbstractsAbstracts and index of the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Pacific and Asian Studies, Social Work, and Sociology.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plusfull text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1986 as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 370 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Women's Studies InternationalWomen’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)Canadian and international periodicals including The Globe and Mail (1985 - fulltext); Maclean's weekly magazine;
Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic
reference materials. Some material is in French.
FRANCISThis database is created by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS) in Vandoeuvre-les-Nancy (France). FRANCIS is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. FRANCIS is strong in areas such as archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion and sociology.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Berg Fashion LibraryFashion history including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.