Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Physics & Astronomy - 2021

Journal Article Databases

The "Online literature" web page, hosted by UVic's Department of Physics & Astronomy, lists key Physics & Astronomy journals at http://www.uvic.ca/science/physics/research/research/online/index.php

The UVic Libraries subscribes to a wide range of subject specific and interdisciplinary journal article databases: 

Find Journal Articles via Summon 2.0 - an Interdiscplinary Search Option

Find journal articles [and other resources] via Summon 2.0, the Libraries' interdisciplinary search & discovery service. Summon is an intuitive and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Victoria Libraries collections. It searches through our collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles. Rather than searching for all of these things in separate databases, Summon provides a single unified search box.e-books, dissertations, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more.

What is SCOAP3?

What is SCOAP3? [source: https://scoap3.org/what-is-scoap3/]

LHC detail

Picture © 2014 by CERN CC-BY-SA 4.0

SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries and 3 intergovernmental organisations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors. SCOAP3 centrally pays publishers for costs involved in providing Open Access, publishers in turn reduce subscription fees to all their customers, who can re-direct these funds to contribute to SCOAP3. Each country contributes in a way commensurate to its scientific output in the field. In addition, existing Open Access journals are also centrally supported, removing any existing financial barrier for authors.

SCOAP3 journals are open for any scientist to publish in without any financial barriers. Copyright stays with authors, and a permissive CC-BY license allow text- and data-mining. SCOAP3 addresses Open Access mandates at no burden for authors. All articles appear in the SCOAP3 repository for further distribution, as well as being Open Access on publishers’ websites.

Does UVic subscribe to a specific journal title?

To search the Libraries Catalogue, enter the journal title in the search box. Refine the displayed results by "Journals"  or "Online Journals."

Other methods to find whether UVic subscribes to a specific journal title:

Choose one of the following search strategies: 

1) Search by the journal title, using the Libraries E-Journals A-Z list. 

2) Browse by journal subject category, using the Libraries E-journals by subject web page. Explore these subject categories:

 

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.