LibGuides: MBA Program: Find company information

Need help? -- Contact Business Librarian

David Boudinot

he/him

Email!

Contact:

University of Victoria Libraries
PO Box 1800 STN CSC
Victoria BC V8W 3H5

250-721-6132

Subjects: Gender Studies

Need more? Try News

News is sometimes our only source of external information about a small or private company. News or interviews with CEOs can provide really current and up to date information about a company’s performance, products, problems, actions, and strategy.

► Use the guide below to find resources for searching across various news sources.

Business news
by David Boudinot Last Updated May 26, 2023 392 views this year

Key databases

► Start with the following to find company profiles and related information.

Orbis - Bureau Van Dijk
Orbis is a global database which has information on over 50 million companies. Use to find descriptive company profiles including financials, news, filings, ratings, ownership and M&A data. Also includes some industry profiles and analyst reports. Search by company name or use screening tools to build a list of companies according to your criteria (geography, industry etc.)
Business Source Complete
Use to find company profiles, SWOTs, and news/articles/trade publications. Search by company name and use Source Type filters, or from the home screen top navigation choose More > Company Profiles to search directly for specifically for company profiles provided by MarketLine.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.

Additional databases

Nexis Uni
Includes company and industry profiles, analyst reports, SEC filings, and business news sources. Search broadly and use filters or try the Guided Search: What are you interested in? > Company info > [enter company name] > And show me... > Company profile or Analyst reports or M&A or SEC filings.
Value Line Investment Survey Online
Use for public company investment/stock information and advice. Search by Company name or symbol for latest report, also provides industry rank and screening tools. Updated every Friday.
Passport
Passport is a vast resource of business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers -- but only covers certain industries (mostly consumer goods). Use to find data, analysis and dashboards for companies in the industries covered. To search, choose Companies from the top navigation and enter company name.

Company filings & financials

► Company profiles from the above databases will include basic financials. Nexis Uni and Orbis also provide company filings including annual reports. The annual report communicates corporate and financial activities to shareholders. Additional filings, filed with government regulatory bodies, such as may disclose even more information about a company's industry, risks, strategy, and future direction. Try these resources, as well as the company's website and investor pages for additional filings and financial information.

Osiris - Bureau Van Dijk
Osiris offers historical financial information on 55,000 listed and major unlisted/delisted companies worldwide (43,000 are non-US companies).
The information includes: standardized and "as reported" financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates including recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings (includes a 30 year history).
SEDAR
SEDAR (the System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) is the official site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). Filing with SEDAR started January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada.
EDGAR
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system run by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is a database of company disclosure documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information.

Companies House
Free UK company information from Companies House includes registered office address, filing history, accounts, annual return, officers, charges, and business activity.