Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

EOS 525 Research Data Management Library Seminar - Fall 2020

Summon Search Strategies

Library Search (aka Summon)

Find journal articles [and other resources] via Summon 2.0, the Libraries' interdisciplinary search & discovery service. Summon is an intuitive and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Victoria Libraries collections. It searches through our collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles. Rather than searching for all of these things in separate databases, Summon provides a single unified search box.e-books, dissertations, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more.

Enter your search terms in the box in the centre of the library homepage (as shown below).

Searching with keywords:

use the name of your archaeological site

add the location of your archaeology site

add other keywords that might help focus your search

Once you run the Summon search, a list of search results will be returned. Results can be narrowed down in many ways including: format (i.e. eBooks, newspaper articles, peer-reviewed journal articles or videos); publication date; full-text availability; and, language. Refine to Discipline Anthropology.

Click on the image to enter a search in the Summon Search Box

  • Search (AKA Summon) searches across the majority of UVic Libraries' resources (books, articles, databases, videos, reports etc)
  • Books & media searches the print books and eBooks in our collection (AKA Voyager)
  • Course reserves searches course reserves system

Strategies for Discovering Resources in the Scholarly Publication Ecosystem.

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.