Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Anthropology - Fall 2020

Journal Article Databases

Find Journal Articles via Summon 2.0 - an Interdiscplinary Search Option

Find journal articles [and other resources] via Summon 2.0, the Libraries' interdisciplinary search & discovery service. Summon is an intuitive and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Victoria Libraries collections. It searches through our collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles. Rather than searching for all of these things in separate databases, Summon provides a single unified search box.e-books, dissertations, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more.

Does UVic subscribe to a specific journal title?

To search the Libraries Catalogue, enter the journal title in the search box. Refine the displayed results by "Journals"  or "Online Journals."

Other methods to find whether UVic subscribes to a specific journal title:

Choose one of the following search strategies: 

1) Search by the journal title, using the Libraries E-Journals A-Z list. 

2) Browse by journal subject category, using the Libraries E-journals by subject web page.

 

Decoding/Finding Journal Abbreviations

The name of a journal in a journal article citation is usually abbreviated: For example: MNRAS is the abbreviation for the Monthy Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society. Rather than try and guess the full journal title, there are online tools and strategies available that make this easy.

One strategy is to simply type the journal abbreviation onto Google.

Other web based journal abbreviation databases are also available:

Selected eJournal Collections

Journals By Subject

Browse our library's "Journals by Subject" to help you with your Anthropology research.

For more specific fields like visual anthropology, ethnography, or primatology, search by journal keyword in the library's catalogue.

More Journal Article Databases

ALSO:  Browse the Libraries Databases by Subject

Featured Resource for ANTH 200 [May-June 2020):
Handbook of Research on Methods and Techniques for Studying Virtual Communities: Paradigms and Phenomena/Ben Kei Daniel (University of Saskatchewan, Canada) 2011. Direct ebook access: https://www-igi-global-com.ezproxy.library.uvic.ca/gateway/book/
41890
UVic LIbraries catalogue record with ebook link at: http://voyager.library.uvic.ca/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=3281311

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.