Skip to Main Content
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Reference of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
CAJ Chinese Journals Fulltext Database (CNKI)
CAJ is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. There are 10 Series databases--Science and Engineering (ABC), Agriculture, Medicine/Hygiene, Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, Education/Social Science, Electronics/Information Science; These are further divided into 168 Subject databases. At present, the library subscribes to the following two series: Series F: Literature/History and Philosophy (1994-) Series H:Education/Social Sciences (2014-)
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. Note: UVic has an institutional site license entitling access to fixed price articles, but fee-based materials require individual registration and additional payments.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
A digital library with an archive of scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. Includes full text articles of over 100 research journals from a variety of fields, with special strength in the humanities. Subjects covered include French, German, Greek and Roman, History, Linguistics, Literature, Medieval Studies, Music, Pacific and Asian, Public Administration, and Russian.
Contains information on current issues and events selected from more than 1500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency tramsmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government documents.
People's Daily (Renmin Ribao)
The most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For over 60 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.