Find Articles - Enginering -- Civil Engineering -- CIVE448 - Drinking Water Contaminants - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

Best Bets

ASM Handbooks Online
Features the complete content of twenty American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Great for Civil and Mechanical Engineering.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.

Energy Citations Database
Includes scientific and technical research results and bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents primarily from 1943 forward (courtesy of the U.S. Department of Energy).
SciTech Connect
Includes scientific and technical research results and bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents primarily from 1943 forward (courtesy of the U.S. Department of Energy).
more...less...
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) has launched SciTech Connect, a new portal to free, publicly available DOE research and development (R&D) results. SciTech Connect incorporates the contents of two of the most popular core DOE collections and employs an innovative semantic search tool enabling scientists, researchers and the scientifically- attentive public to retrieve more relevant information. OSTI plans to gradually phase out its current DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations products and replace them with the improved search interface of SciTech Connect.

Web of Science
Reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools. Includes Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
ASCE Library
ASCE Library is an online full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Try PubMed

PubMed
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It is updated 5 times/week.

Other Useful Databases

Use these databases to find articles about your topic.

Applied Science & Technology Index
Citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983
Periodicals and citations, book reviews, the complete files of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957), and unique business coverage through 1957.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Aquatic resources provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 publications. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
Business Source Complete
Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 . Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
TRID
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

Evaluating Resources

Bias in Toxicology
This article provides a broad introduction to what bias is and types of bias in experimental toxicology.
Wandall, B., Hansson, S.O. & Rudén, C. Arch Toxicol (2007) 81: 605. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00204-007-0194-5
Identifying and Avoiding Bias in Research
Although this article mainly speaks to researchers from the medical fields, it has many different recommendations on avoiding bias as well as identifies many more sources of bias such as Bias during study design, citation bias (publications), and internal versus external validity of the study.
An increasing problem in publication ethics: Publication bias and editors’ role in avoiding it
This article discusses publication bias that can result in distorted data. It highlights how researchers should value the negative results and publish the findings for the betterment of the scientific community.

Enginering -- Civil Engineering -- CIVE448 - Drinking Water Contaminants

Google Scholar

Journals

Is your journal peer-reviewed?

Best Bets

Try PubMed

Other Useful Databases

Evaluating Resources