LibGuides: Aboriginal Law Research Guide: Historical Government Sources

British Columbia Government Records

British Columbia Sessional Papers

1876 - 1962. UBC digital version
Canada Gazette
The official newspaper of the Government of Canada since 1841. Online coverage from 1998, with pdf versions "official" since 2002.

more...
British Columbia Official Gazettes 1859 - 1871
Government Gazette British Columbia, 1863- 1871; Government Gazette for Vancouver Island, 1864- 1866 and the Government Gazette for the Colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, 1859-1860.

more...

Papers connected with the Indian Land Question, 1850-1875 by British Columbia
Call Number: KID40 B85 1987

Publication Date: 1875 reprinted 1987

British Columbia Legislative Assembly Sessional Clippings Books
These Sessional Clippings books cover the period 1891 to 1972, and include newspaper accounts written by various legislative reporters who covered debates occurring in the British Columbia Legislative Assembly. Transcripts of debates of the Legislative Assembly (Hansard) were not published in B.C. until 1970; hence these "Sessional Clipping Books" augment the “Journals”, the record of daily proceedings of the Legislative Assembly

Gender Discrimination and the Indian Act

Collection of Documents on Gender Discrimination and the Indian Act
This collection of documents was compiled by the University of Toronto Bora Laskin Law Library. It includes legislative histories, committee reports, UN periodic reports, and background information from civil society reports, as well as links to domestic and international challenges to the Indian Act through Canadian courts and the UN Human Rights Committee.

Indian Affairs Records

RG 10 - Department of Indian Affairs Finding Aid Created by the UBCIC Resource Center

Records relating to Indian affairs (RG 10) / compiled by Peter Gillis, David Hume, Robert Armstrong by Records relating to Indian affairs (RG 10) / compiled by Peter Gillis, David Hume, Robert Armstrong

Call Number: Law LIbrary Reference CD3638 1975 G4

Publication Date: 1975
Records relating to Indian affairs (RG 10) / National Archives of Canada, Government Archives Division. by National Archives of Canada

Call Number: McPherson Library Reference CD3629 I53 1992

Publication Date: 1992
Indian treaties and surrenders. [microform]. by National Archives of Canada

Call Number: Law Library Microfilm KF8202 1991a

Publication Date: 1680-1902?

The documents on this microfilm were transferred to the National Archives of Canada by Indian Affairs: They are held in Government Archives Division in RG 10, Vols. 1840 to 1853. These are 4 reels with the following National Archives of Canada assigned numbers, TO9938, TO9939, TO9940 and TO9941. 4 reels. Print and online versions also available.
Annual report of the Department of Indian Affairs [microform] by Canada Department of Indian Affairs, 1867-

Call Number: Law LIbrary Microfiche E92 C21

Publication Date: 1867/68-1974/75.

Reports of the Indian Office, for previous years, since confederation, will be found with the reports of the Secretary of State for the years 1868-1873, inclusive; and with those of the Dept. of the Interior for the years 1874-1879, inclusive.
For later years, they will be found with the reports of the Dept. of Mines and Resources for the years 1936/37-1951/52; with those of the Dept. of Citizenship and Immigration for the years 1952/53-1965/66; and with those of the Dept. of Indian Affairs and Northern Development from 1966/67 to date.
1897/98-1935/36 includes Auditor General's report on expenditure and revenue.
Report year irregular. Also available in print, and partially online.

Aboriginal Law Research Guide

British Columbia Government Records

Gender Discrimination and the Indian Act

Indian Affairs Records

International Sources