Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries
askus Ask us
 

Law Graduate Student Resources

Search the UVic library catalogue and WorldCat

  Start with "subject Keyword" including legal topic/area of law and jurisdiction, limit to Law LIbrary

The UVic Libraries Catalogue contains bibliographic records for the Law Library, McPherson Library, Archives & Special Collections, and the Curriculum Library. It contains records for legal texts and treatises, journal titles, statutes, law reports, and government publications, in both print and ebook formats.   Nominate reports and older statutes held in print in the Law Library are not listed in the catalogue.

Search the libraries catalogue by legal topic, author, title, or use a subject heading.   Library catalogue records will provide you a call number for a print items or a web link for an  ebook .Ebooks are accessed through the library catalogue or through an ebook collection. 

The Libraries Catalogue contains records for goverment policy documents and government reports.  Many of these titles are electronic pdf files.  The catalogue records contains a web link to the collection where the pdf is stored. Records are added for titles included in the following ecollections:  Legislative Library of British Columbia (monthly) Canadian Public Policy Deslibris collection (semi-monthly), Canadian Government Publishing (weekly), Microlog BC Collection (from 1998-2010), OECD Ilibrary, IMF Ilibrary, World Bank eLibrary. 

Records are selectively added individually for titles from municipal governments, other provincial governments, and other international organizations, including the European Union and the United Nations. 

Borrowing at UVic Libraries

Your UVic student card (ONECard) acts as your library card.

Graduate students may borrow up to 200 books for term (end of April) loans.

Find more information about:

Interlibrary Loan - Borrowing from another library

Found an item in WorldCat or other library databases not held at UVic?

Interlibrary loan provides you with resources from other libraries when UVic does not hold the item you need for your study or research. It is a free service to request items not held by the UVic Libraries.Graduate students may order a books, journal articles, thesis and dissertations through the Interlibrary loan services.

For more information on Interlibrary loan basics visit: Borrow from another library (interlibrary loan)

Suggest a Book

Graduate students are encouraged to suggest additions to the collection.

Contact any of our law librarians, email lawref@uvic.ca or use our  Suggest a Book form

Find UVic Library Resources via Summon

Summon 2.0 -- UVic Libraries search engine

What is Summon?

Creative Commons License
This work by The University of Victoria Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License unless otherwise indicated when material has been used from other sources.