Cases - International Human Rights and Dispute Resolution - Law 373 - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

International Case Law

International Court of Justice
Hears Claims of Human Rights Violations under the UN Charter
International Criminal Court

Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals Full text equivalent of the print series, Annotated Leading Cases of International Tribunals. Distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law provide commentary on these decisions. Includes the most important decisions, including concurring, separate and dissenting opinions, from the Int. Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda (ICTR) and Yugoslavia (ICTY), The Special Court for Sierra Leone (SCSL), and Special Panel for Serious Crimes (SPCL, re. Timor Leste).

UN Case Law Database
The Case Law Database (“CLD”) is a gateway to the jurisprudence of the International Criminal Tribunal, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, and International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunal Appeals Chambers.

It provides direct access to extracts of key judgements and decisions rendered by the ICTR, ICTY, and IRMCT Appeals Chambers since their inception, as well as to full-text versions of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions.
International Courts and Tribunals Collection (WorldLII)

International Law Reports
Call Number: JX68 I48
Publication Date: 1956-2014

Treaty Body Jurisprudence

Jurisprudence - Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights by United Nations. Human Rights Committee.
Publication Date: 1900-
"This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC)."

Regional Case Law

HUDOC - European Court of Human Rights
HUDOC contains the European Court of Human Rights' judgments and a large selection of decisions, items of information on communicated cases, consultative opinions, press releases, legal summaries and Commission decisions and reports.
European Court of Human Rights
Hears alleged violations of the European Convention of Human Rights
ACHPR Database
This database provides judgments of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.
African Human Rights Case Law Analyser
This database includes cases from the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, and other human rights mechanisms.
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
SUMMA
SUMMA is an online database that provides users with a complete overview of cases heard by the Inter-American Commission and Court of Human Rights.
International Courts and Tribunals Collection (WorldLII)

Locating Canadian case law

The Canadian Statute Citations provides an index to Canadian domestic court decisions that have cited an international treaty. Locate the International volume of the Canadian Statute Citations and lookup your treaty by name and article number.

Canadian statute citations
Call Number: Dig-Can KE173 C365

International Human Rights and Dispute Resolution - Law 373

International Case Law

Treaty Body Jurisprudence

Regional Case Law

Locating Canadian case law

Subject headings