LibGuides: Engineering -- Civil Engineering -- CIVE285--Civil Engineering Materials: Find Books

E-Books

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. We believe that they offer unique value to the reader by providing more analysis and depth than the typical research journal article. They are also more dynamic and convenient than traditional print or digital handbooks, contributed volumes, and monographs.

The library and its lectures are organized by series. Each series is managed by a prominent consulting editor. The series editor guides lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review. New series and lectures will be added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed. This will make the collection dynamic in a way that has not been achieved with traditional reference or educational products.

The Synthesis platform provides the user with access to content in PDF with live links to references and sophisticated search and personalization functions.

SpringerLink - Civil Engineering e-books
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. SpringerLink is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists.
SpringerLink - Concrete Design ebooks
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. SpringerLink is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists.
Ebook Collections in UVic Libraries
Ebooks are a great alternate to the classic book and provide you with the utmost flexibility in terms of use. For more information on formats, styles and comparison of different ebook platforms visit http://libguides.uvic.ca/ebooks

Search the library catalogue

Civil Engineering Books

Bridges by Baidar Bakht; Aftab Mufti
ISBN: 9783319178431
Publication Date: 2015-10-09
This book offers a valuable guide for practicing bridge engineers and graduate students in structural engineering; its main purpose is to present the latest concepts in bridge engineering in fairly easy-to-follow terms.
8th RILEM International Symposium on Testing and Characterization of Sustainable and Innovative Bituminous Materials by Francesco Canestrari (Editor); Manfred N. Partl (Editor)
ISBN: 9789401773416
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
This work presents the results of RILEM TC 237-SIB (Testing and characterization of sustainable innovative bituminous materials and systems). The papers have been selected for publication after a rigorous peer review process and will be an invaluable source to outline and clarify the main directions of present and future research and standardization for bituminous materials and pavements. This is the proceedings of the RILEM SIB2015 Symposium (Ancona, Italy, October 7-9, 2015).
Building Performance Evaluation by Wolfgang F. E. Preiser (Editor); Andrea E. Hardy (Editor); Ulrich Schramm (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319568621
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
The main aim of this book is to present an intriguing retrospective of Building Performance Evaluation (BPE) as it evolved from Post-Occupancy Evaluation (POE) over the past 25 years. On one hand, this is done by updating original authors' chapter content of Building Evaluation, the first edition published in 1989. That, in turn, is augmented by an orientation toward current and future practice on the other, including new authors who are engaged in ongoing, cutting edge projects. Therefore, individual, methodology oriented chapters covering the fundamental principles of POE and BPE go along with major thematic chapters, topics of which like sustainability or integration of new technologies are addressed in a diversity of case studies from around the globe.
Civil Engineering by David Muir Wood
ISBN: 9780199578634
Publication Date: 2012-11-25
Civil engineering produces the structures of all human settlements worldwide and is a vital discipline for many aspects modern life, underlying housing, transport, and our major areas and buildings related to work, study, and leisure.In this Very Short Introduction, David Muir Wood demonstrates the nature and importance of civil engineering not only in the history of civilization and urbanization, but its range of facets today, and its challenges for the future.
Computational Methods in Earthquake Engineering by Manolis Papadrakakis (Editor); Vagelis Plevris (Editor); Nikos D. Lagaros (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319477985
Publication Date: 2017-01-04
This is the third book in a series on Computational Methods in Earthquake Engineering. The purpose of this volume is to bring together the scientific communities of Computational Mechanics and Structural Dynamics, offering a wide coverage of timely issues on contemporary Earthquake Engineering.
Introduction to Design for Civil Engineers by R. S. Narayanan; A. W. Beeby
ISBN: 0203132556
Publication Date: 2000-09-28
An Introduction to Design for Civil Engineersis a concise book that provides the reader with the necessary background on terminology used in design. With this book as a guide, entry-level students of civil engineering will better understand from the outset lectures on detailed subject areas
Introduction to Solid Mechanics by Jacob Lubliner; Panayiotis Papadopoulos
ISBN: 9781461467687
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
This textbook presents for the first time in one text the concepts and processes covered in statics and mechanics of materials curricula following a systematic, topically integrated approach. Since the turn of the millennium, it has become common in engineering schools to combine the traditional undergraduate offerings in rigid-body statics (usually called 'statics') and deformable body mechanics (known traditionally as 'strength of materials' or, more recently, 'mechanics of materials') into a single, introductory course in solid mechanics.
Mechanics, Models and Methods in Civil Engineering by Michel Fremond (Editor); Franco Maceri (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642246371
Publication Date: 2011-11-07
Mechanics, Models and Methods in Civil Engineering" collects leading papers dealing with actual Civil Engineering problems. The approach is in the line of the Italian-French school and therefore deeply couples mechanics and mathematics creating new predictive theories, enhancing clarity in understanding, and improving effectiveness in applications.
Multi-Layer Composite Pavement System under Blast Load by Jun Wu; Hao Wu
ISBN: 9789811050008
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
This book proposes the concept of a multi-layer pavement system to fulfill the blast resistance requirement for pavement design. It also presents a damage pattern chart for multi-layer pavement design and rapid repair after blast load. Such a multi-layer system consists of three layers including asphalt concrete (AC) reinforced with Geogrid (GST) at the top, a high-strength concrete (HSC) layer in the middle, and engineered cementitious composites (ECC) at the bottom.