LibGuides: Labour Law: Case law

About this page

Use this page for leads and quick links to online sources of case law relevant to this course. LexisNexis Quicklaw and WestlawNext Canada will require law student program login.

Labour and Employment Case Law Research

Review the Case Law Research tab and its subpages in the LRW research guide for a refresher on conducting case law research.

Case Law Research Databases

CanLII
Free, open collection of case law and legislation. Searchable and organized by jurisdiction. Contains a large body of labour tribunal case law. Some case summaries and comments available via CanLII Connects.
WestlawNext Canada
Use this database to access the Canadian Abridgment to find labour and employment cases organized topically, and to access the full text of most of those cases. Note up cases for judicial consideration using KeyCite. Westlaw Canada password required.
LexisNexis Quicklaw
Use this database to access the Canada Digest (online only) to find labour and employment case law organized topically, and link to the full text of those cases. Note up cases for judicial consideration using QuickCite. LexisNexis Quicklaw password required.
Maritime Law Book
Maritime Law Book (MLB) publishes case reports in all Canadian jurisdictions.

MLB's National Reporter System uses a key number index to classify case digests topically and hierarchically. The MLB databases can be searched by these key numbers.

Labour Law: http://www.mlb.nb.ca/KeyNumbers/BreakdownDocs/html/Labour.cfm