LibGuides: Labour Law: Library Research: Journals

About this page

Use this page for help locating journal and other articles on labour and employment issues, particularly in support of a research paper.

Legal literature on labour and employment law

Use print or electronic law journals, law reviews, newsletters, and other legal literature to help you to develop ideas and to find discussions or applications of cases and legal issues.

Use Summon to find journal articles, or search directly in journal databases relevant to law and labour and employment law.

Key Labour and Employment Journals

Canadian Labour and Employment Law Journal (online)
(Lancaster House) full text journal in HeinOnline, formerly Canadian Labour Law Journal. Also accessible via Lancaster House program, with links to CanLII case law.
Canadian Labour and Employment Law Journal
(Lancaster House, formerly Carswell). Print version of CLELJ, K3 A65354 (Law Library Periodicals)
Comparative Labor law and Policy Journal (online)
(University of Illinois at Chicago). Full-text in HeinOnline; also limited run in print (Law Library Periodicals) K3 O 49862
ABA Journal of Labor & Employment law (online)
(American Bar Association). in several online collections. Also in print (Law Library Periodicals) K12 A2682 http://voyager.library.uvic.ca/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=2202386
Hofstra Labor & Employment Law Journal (online)
(School of Law, Hofsra University). Available in HeinOnline and LexisNexis Academic. Also available in limited run in print (Law Library Periodicals) K8 O 3766

Legal literature databases

These databases or collections of legal journals are useful starting points for finding specific journals and individual articles when you don't know which jourals to look for.

HeinOnline
The largest, most comprehensive collection of legal periodical literature at UVic Libraries. Contains electronic versions of many print legal journals.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
Although this began as a legal index (containing subject, author, title, and abstract information to point to articles, it is now a database of numerous full text legal journals. Covers mostly US but also Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
An index or finding tool for foreign law books, journals, and articles in many languages and published in non-Commonwealth countries.
Nexis Uni
Separate from LexisNexis Quicklaw; no password required. A highly content-rich database of, among other things, law journals from across Canada and the US.
LegalTrac
A subset of InfoTrac for legal subject content. Flexible index or finding tool for a variety of content types including legal journal articles, many in full text

Lancaster House

Lancaster House is a Canadian publisher of periodical newsletter content and producer of conferences and workshops on the spectrum of labour and employment matters.

Students in LAW 326B have password access to some Lancaster House content, for the purpose of learning and research in the course.

Available Lancaster House content:

Leading Cases on Labour Arbitration Online
Online version of Leading Cases on Labour Arbitration, by Brian Etherington and Morton Mitchnick. It consists of leading cases, identified by the authors, on hundreds of labour arbitration topics. The leading cases are summarized, a key passage is provided, and the full text of the case in PDF is available. The publication can be accessed online through a table of contents, an index, or a keyword search.
First Resort™ database system
"First Resort™ is a fully-online and cross-linked database of all Lancaster House reports, with links to the full text of decisions. First Resort™ presents key labour and employment law decisions, commentary and analysis for twenty different databases, each of which covers a discrete area of labour and employment law."
Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal
Access to complete online library of all volumes of the Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal, linked with CanLII decisions.
Labour Arbitration Yearbook
Access to the complete online library of all volumes of the Labour Arbitration Yearbook, linked with CanLII decisions.