Research Methods in Linguistics

Many documents can serve as primary sources for linguistics analysis. They can be historical text, news, language archives, corpora resources, audio and video files.

Historical texts and News databases:

• Newspapers at UVic Libraries
• Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank)       
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale)  
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale)   
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Histories (Alexander Street Press)  
• Women's Magazine Archive I (ProQuest)  

Selected Language Archives and Corpora Resources

• African Language Materials Archive
• British National Corpus
• ComparaLex: a database of language word list data with audio samples
• Corpus-based Linguistics: check the CBL links for online corpora
• Corpus del Español
• Corpus of historical American English: 400 million words of text from 1810s to 2000s
• Endangered languages archive
• OpenSLR
• Rosetta Project: The collection currently contains nearly 100,000 pages of material documenting over 2,500 languages, as well as a growing multimedia collection of modern and historical language recordings.
• Speech and language data repository

• Strathy Corpus of Canadian English

• Wikipedia List of Text Corpora

• For more languages...

Audio or Video datasets

• CMU_ARCTIC databases: (Carnegie Mellon University) consist of around 1150 utterances from US English male and female speakers
• Child language data exchange system
• Canadian English: Voices of the International Corpus of English (VOICE) CANADA
• ComparaLex: developed by the Canada Institute of Linguistics, a database of language word list data with audio samples
• Open Speech and Language Resources (OpenSLR)
• Speech & language data repository
• Theatre in Video
• VoxForge : it provides speech audio and transcriptions that can be used for research
• World oral literature project