It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AHRQ Electronic Preventive Services Selector An application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device. Access: Free
Tool that provides short descriptions of thousands of common and obscure eponyms. Access: Free
iRadiology Lieberman's iRadiology Classics (HMS)- 500+ images, classic radiological findings of a multitude of abnormalities. Access: Free
Diagnosaurus Differential diagnosis tool allows users to navigate by diagnosis, symptom, or organ system. Access: Free
Medscape: WebMD Drug reference that includes a drug interaction checker, medical news across 30 specialties, multimedia images and video, and access to continuing medication education activities. Access: Free
Mobile MerckMedicus Downloads available for The Merck Manual, Professional Edition, Harrison's Practice - Answers on Demand, and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. Access: Free
NCBI Bookshelf Selected texts from the NCBI Bookshelf can be freely downloaded. Titles include Clinical Methods, Genes and Disease, and Medical Microbiology. Access: Free
EBSCOhost Online Research Databases Access to EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL, Biomedical Reference Complete, MEDLINE, PsycINFO. Access abstracts and citations along with full-text journal articles. Access: Institutional subscription paid by UBC Library.
To install, log in with your UBC CWL account. Select the databases to search in and scroll to the bottom of the database and click on the link for "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications."
Access Medicine Mobile
The AccessMedicine app is available to UBC users. To activate and for continued access to the app, users must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days, either on the UBC network or from off campus via EZproxy. Initial signup for the My Access account must occur on the UBC network, or from off-campus through EZproxy. To sign up for a My Access account, connect to AccessMedicine using the 'Connect to resource' button above (EZproxy sign-in for off-campus users will be automatic), then click on "The University of British Columbia Library" drop-down in the top right. To download the app, please visit the App Store or Google Play.
BMJ Clinical Evidence Clinical Evidence is a database of high-quality, rigorously developed systematic overviews evaluating the benefits and harms of treatments, and offers a suite of EBM resources and training materials.
CINAHL Mobile Available for iPhone and Android applications. Log in with your UBC CWL account and then click on the link at the bottom of the page "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications." Enter your UBC email, and you will receive instructions. Authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature. Coverage: 1981 - Present. Produced by Ebsco Publishing.
Dynamed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics.
e-HLBC Free Mobile Resources
A list of free mobile resources gathered from library subject guides by the Electronic Health Library of British Columbia. Popular titles include: Epocrates Rx, John Hopkins ABX Guides, Medscape and more.
MDConsult With instant access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 15,000 patient handouts, MD Consult is truly all you need. To access the mobile version, create an account then go to http://www.mdconsult.com on your mobile device browser and login.
Medline (Ebsco) Available for iPhone and Android applications. Log in with your UBC CWL account and then click on the link at the bottom of the page "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications." Enter your UBC email, and you will receive instructions. Authoritative coverage of medical health literature. Coverage: 1949 - Present. Produced by Ebsco Publishing.
MedlinePlus Mobile A consumer health site developed by the National Library of Medicine with links to health topics, prescription and over-the-counter drug information, a dictionary of medical words, and current health news.
PubGet Mobile Searches PubMed content and provides immediate access to available PDFs.
Shots 2012 Contains childhood, adolescent, catch-up, and adult 2012 immunization schedules and references from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices.
TOXNET Mobile Toxicology and hazardous chemicals databases including HSDB, IRIS, ITER, GENE-TOX, CCRIS, TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, TRI, and ChemIDPlus. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of its Specialized Information Services Division.
STAT!Ref Mobile A collection of online texts now available for mobile devices. Access via UBC libraries includes: · AAFP Conditions A to Z (2012) · ACP Medicine · Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders – 4th Ed. (DSM-IV-TR™, 2000) · DrugPoints® System · Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care - 4th Ed. (2010) · Red Book®: 2009 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases (28th edition), · MedCalc3000, · Stedman's Medical Dictionary- 28th edition (2006).
The official app of the University of British Columbia's Vancouver & Okanagan campuses. Access the students' guide, view campus photos, videos, program information, social media, and connect with UBC by requesting your you.ubc.ca account!
From the Yale Medical Library this page describes the devices that are available and their strengths and weaknesses. The "Other Things to Consider" section discusses optimal data plans, HIPPA compliance, and pricing.