LibGuides: Engineering -- ENGR240 -- Technical Writing: Reference Works

Important Reference Works

ASM Handbooks Online
Features the complete content of twenty American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Great for Civil and Mechanical Engineering.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Wiley)
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of scientific, technical and medical information. ScienceDirect content includes journals from Elsevier and other science/technology/medical publishers in addition to an expanding suite of secondary databases.

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Provides the basic principles and in-depth coverage of all technically pertinent areas of modern-day physics, coupled with technological applications.
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia
Reference Q121 V3 2002
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology
An international reference work in twenty volumes including an index.
Reference Q121 M3 2002
Encyclopedia of Energy Sciences Engineering and Technology Resources
Updated monthly. Developed under the auspices of the UNESCO and Eolss Publishers, Oxford, UK.
Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation