Government Sources, Debates - HSTR 230A/B - History of Canada - LibGuides at University of Victoria Libraries

About this page

This page provides access points for documents and publications of the Government of Canada including Parliament and federal departments and agencies.

Primary and Official Sources - Electronic

Canada. Supreme Court of Canada
Canada's final court of appeal is the last judicial resort for all litigants, whether individuals or governments. Its jurisdiction embraces both the civil law of the province of Quebec and the common law of the other provinces and territories.
Canadian Foreign Relations Index
Contains Canadian and foreign material on Canada’s foreign relations, defence, economic relations, foreign aid, international law, and international environmental concerns. It covers material published between 1945 and 2005. This resource was discontinued on August 1, 2014. No new content will be added but you can still use the existing content.
Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat
Created by the First Ministers of Canada in May 1973. It is an agency of both the federal and provincial governments that provides administrative services for the planning and conduct of First Ministers, Ministers and Deputy Ministers federal-provincial-territorial and provincial-territorial conferences held throughout Canada.

The multilateral intergovernmental conference is a critical component of Canadian federalism. It is a key element for consultation, coordination, negotiation and
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 19th and 20th Centuries
The British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) provides access to over 200 years of day-to-day history through documents of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries up to 2004. The database consists of the digitized full image and full text archive of over 180,000 British parliamentary papers or almost 10,000,000 pages. This comprehensive collection includes all sessional papers issues by the House of Commons including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accoun
Estimates Publications, Appropriation Acts (Supply bills)
From 1996 to the presnt, this website includes:

Part I and II - Main Estimates
Part III - Reports on Plans and Priorities
RPP Overview
Part III - Departmental Performance Reports
Canada's Performance
Supplementary Estimates
Appropriation Acts (Supply Bills)
Governor General Special Warrants

more...less...
Print copies held in Main. Search by keyword using "performance reports" and Canada

Debates, Records, and Proceedings - Electronic

Canada Parliaments - Durations of Sessions Go

LEGISINFO
Use for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as: the text of the bill at various stages; government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills); legislative summaries; important speeches at second reading; votes; and coming into force data. Covers the 37th Parliament (2001) to the present.
Parliament of Canada. Chamber Business
Choose House "Business" or Senate "in the Chamber". Hansard (Debates) and Journals of the House of Commons and Senate of Canada are online from the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (January 17, 1994) to the present .
more...less...
Print holdings from 1867 to the present held in the Main Library. See the following call numbers:

* J103 K33 for the Journals of the House of Commons,
* J103 J3 for the Journals of the Senate,
* J103 K2 for the House of Commons Debates (Hansard)
* J103 J2 for the Senate Debates (Hansard)
Reconstituted Debates: The Early Debates of Parliament
Official reporting of the debates of Canada’s Parliament began in 1871 in the Senate and in 1875 in the House of Commons. Prior to this, there was no official record of what was said in Parliament. This site reconstitutes the debates using newspaper reports of the day as the source of information.

Coverage: Senate from 1867 to 1870, House of Commons 1867 to 1874.

more...less...
Site created by the the Parliament of Canada in collaboration with the Library of Parliament
Debates of the House of Commons (Reconstituted, 1867-1870)
In 2005-2006 Canadiana.org, in collaboration with the Library of Parliament, added Reconstituted Debates of the House of Commons (1867-1870) and Reconstituted Debates of the Senate (1867-1871) to the open access section of ECO. The early Debates of the Parliament of Canada were never officially published. They only appeared unofficially in newspapers such as the Toronto Globe and the Ottawa Times. Library of Parliament edited these unofficial debates and published them in book form
more...less...
Informally known as the "Reconstituted Debates".
Debates of the Senate (Reconstituted, 1867-1871)
In 2005-2006 Canadiana.org, in collaboration with the Library of Parliament, added Reconstituted Debates of the House of Commons (1867-1870) and Reconstituted Debates of the Senate (1867-1871) to the open access section of ECO. The early Debates of the Parliament of Canada were never officially published. They only appeared unofficially in newspapers such as the Toronto Globe and the Ottawa Times. Library of Parliament edited these unofficial debates and published them in book form.
more...less...
Informally known as the "Reconstituted Debates".
Sessional Papers of the Parliament of the Dominion of Canada 1867-1900
Digital version covers 1867 to 1900. Print holdings covering 1867 to 1924 in Main at call number J103 H.
Early Canadiana version.
Privy Council Office Information Resources
Includes: Cabinet, Commissions of Inquiry, Former Prime Ministers Archive, Guide to Canadian Ministries Since Confederation, Orders in Council.
Canada Parliament -records digitized by the Internet Archive
Records created by the Parliament of Canada, incluidng Sessional papers, census, annual reports, journals, and debates.
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada 1867-1996
1st Parliament (1867-72) - 35th Parliament, 1st Session (1994-96). After 1996, go to parl.gc.ca
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources collection from the Library of Parliament. Includes Journals and Debates.
more...less...
See also Historical debates of the Parliament of Canada, 1867-1996.

Debates, Records and Proceedings - Print

The titles listed below are found on the 3rd floor of McPherson Library. Shelved by Call Number.

House of Commons debates, official report (Hansard). 1875 to the present.
Call Number: J103 K2

Debates of the Senate, official report (Hansard). 1873 to the present.
Call Number: J103 J2

Reconstituted Debates of the House of Commons and Senate of Canada 1868-1871
Call Numbers J103 K18 and J103 J18.

Sessional Papers of the Parliament of the Dominion of Canada. 1867-1924
Call Number J103 H6

Journals of the House of Commons of Canada. 1868 to the present
Call Number J103 K3

Journals of theSenate of Canada. 1868 to the present
Call Number J103 J3

House of Commons and Senate Standing and Special Committees Minutes and Proceedings Sheved by committee, starting at Call number J103 J6

The above titles are also available at the Law Library. The title below is only available at the Law Library.

Unpublished House of Commons Sessional Papers 12th Parliament, 6th session (12 Jan. 1916/18 May 1916)]-33rd Parliament, 2nd session (30 Sept./1986/1 Oct. 1988. Law Microfilm KE55.2 C362