Government Publications - United States

Link to a New Titles search with predefined searches for the last 7 days, two weeks, and up to three months.

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple (53 at last count, including Agricola, EPA, USGS etc.) U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

"The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990." Source: website

Repository for information from U.S. federal agencies in all three branches of govenment. Currently holds 154,000 plus documents including President Obama's official documents. FDsys will replace GPOAccess in early 2011; FDsys wil be retired December 2018.

Includes USGS numbered series begun in 1880. Full-text of over 40,000 publications. DJVU plug in required to view full text. Use the Advanced Search to locate papers by series.

Full text online publications by United States Forest Service Research and Development scientists. Publications include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by US Forest Service scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results have been peer reviewed.

The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. TRAIL currently consists of over three dozen member institutions whose annual membership fees and volunteered staff time further the efforts of the project.

Link to a New Titles search with predefined searches for the last 7 days, two weeks, and up to three months.

The official handbook of the Federal Government provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Includes information and web addresses for quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.