LibGuides: English Language and Literature: Criticism & Theory

Call Numbers/Subject Headings

Literature Philosophy
Here are entered works on the theory of literature, including its aims, ideals, meaning, relations to philosophy, etc.

Find works of History and criticism by geographic area and period by using the subject heading "History and criticism" following your initial search term, i.e English literature--17th century--History and criticism. Find works of criticism by a particular author by adding the subheading "Criticism and interpretation" to the author heading, i.e. Atwood, Margaret Eleanor, 1939- Criticism and interpretation.

Literature History and Criticism
Here are entered histories of literature and works evaluating the character and qualities of works of literature. Works on the principles of literary criticism are entered under the heading Criticism.
more...less...
Choose subheadings in the hierarchy based on the aspect, period, or source type you are interested in, e.g. Literature History and criticism Theory, etc.
Critical Theory
Criticism
Here are entered works on the principles of criticism in general and of literary criticism in particular. Criticism in a specific field is entered under the appropriate heading, e.g. Art criticism; English literature--History and criticism; English poetry--History and criticism; Literature--History and criticism; Music--History and criticism.

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and includes alphabetically-arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism
Reference
PN86 E54 1999
v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: approaches, scholars, terms
1993

Databases

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Contains >500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and more, published anywhere in the world on English literature. Also includes full text of over 60 journals.

Here are a few key databases for finding criticism and theory articles. For more article databases, see the subject guide for English Language and Literature--Find Articles page and the Databases by subject--Literature list on the Library web site.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism collects more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Literature Criticism Online
Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Imagine centuries of analysis.

MLA International Bibliography Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Select Books

The following selected titles will help you get started with your research.

Literary Theory: A Reintroduction by Ayers, David
Call Number: PR21 A94
Literary Theory : an Introduction by Eagleton, Terry
Living with Theory by Leitch, Vincent B.
Call Number: PN94 L395
Mimesis and Theory: Essays on Literature and Criticism, 1953-2005 by Girard, Rene
Call Number: PN511 G5
In Search of Authority: an Introductory Guide by Bonnycastle, Stephen
Call Number: PN45 B575 2007
Cambridge Companion to Feminist Literary Theory by Rooney, Ellen, ed.
Call Number: PN98 W64 C28
Cambridge Companion to Critical Theory by Fred Rush, ed.
Call Number: B809.3 C36